Flashlights
Sofirn SC31 Pro Review: Two Thousand Lumens, No Runtime Printed
The light that sits on top of most of the rankings on this site, read against its own published specification — including the row Sofirn leaves blank.
By Scooter M. · Published September 4, 2026

Short answer
Sofirn SC31 Pro
Two thousand published lumens out of a standard 18650 you can buy anywhere for a few dollars, in a light that costs less than most brands charge for a keychain. The cell is the whole argument: when it dies in three years you replace a battery, not a flashlight.
listing
image
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.
How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.
The verdict in sixty words
On published figures the SC31 Pro is the strongest lumens-per-dollar light we rank, and the specification is the reason: 2,000 lumens, IPX8, 226 meters of beam, USB-C charging in the body, and a standard 18650 cell you can replace for the price of a sandwich. Two things decide whether it suits you. Sofirn publishes no runtime for any mode, and the firmware is Anduril, which is a week of learning before it becomes a convenience.
This light sits at the top of our flagship ranking, our under-fifty ranking and the Ledger, which is exactly why it has earned a page that argues with it rather than one that agrees with it. Everything below is read from Sofirn's own published specification, with a single independent measurement clearly marked as somebody else's work rather than ours.
What Sofirn publishes
Sofirn sells direct and has no retail shelf to pay for, and that shows up in the specification more than it does in the price. For roughly what a supermarket charges for a sealed plastic torch, the published sheet reads: 2,000 lumens maximum from a single SST40 emitter, 226 meters of beam distance, IPX8 water resistance, 59 grams without the cell, 117.5 millimeters long, USB-C charging that Sofirn states takes two and a half hours with a 2A adapter, and one 18650 lithium-ion cell the owner can change.
| Published figure | Sofirn SC31 Pro |
|---|---|
| Maximum output | 2,000 lumens |
| Beam distance | 226 m |
| Emitter | SST40, 5000K or 6500K |
| Cell | 1 x 18650 Li-ion, user replaceable |
| Charging | USB-C, 2.5 h with a 2A adapter |
| Water rating | IPX8 |
| Weight | 59 g without battery |
| Length | 117.5 mm |
| Runtime, any mode | Not published |
| ANSI FL1 conformity | Not stated |
The row that is blank
Two rows on that table are empty, and on this site those matter more than any of the rows that are full. Sofirn does not publish how long the SC31 Pro runs at 2,000 lumens, or at any other output, and it does not state that its figures were measured to ANSI FL1. Every ranking here is arithmetic over published numbers, so a missing number is not a gap in our research. It is a fact about the product.
This is not pedantry, and here is why. An aluminum tube of this size cannot shed the heat that 2,000 lumens produces for very long. Nothing in this class can, and the physics does not care which brand is on the label, so every light like this steps down. The only question is whether the manufacturer tells you when. Wurkkos prints one hour and fourteen minutes beside the TS10's 1,400 lumens. NEBO prints thirty seconds beside the SLIM Mini 500's turbo. Sofirn prints nothing.
The practical reading is to treat 2,000 lumens as a burst rather than a mode, and to buy the light for the sustained output underneath it. That is how it will behave in your hand and it is also how it is priced, so this is a criticism of the specification sheet rather than of the flashlight.
The independent measurement, and what it does not settle
There is one piece of outside evidence worth putting on this page. A reviewer on BudgetLightForum posting as gchart measured this light on his own equipment and reported 2,434 lumens at turn-on and 2,255 lumens at thirty seconds. If that holds generally, Sofirn's 2,000-lumen claim is conservative, which is close to unheard of in a category where the number on the box is usually the number the emitter can touch for an instant.
We are not going to overstate it. That is one reviewer, one sample and one set of instruments — not a certified test and not a batch. It says nothing about output at ten minutes, which is the figure that would actually settle the runtime question. And the same reviewer found something less flattering: the thermal calibration on his unit was off by roughly 22 degrees Celsius from the factory, which makes the light step down earlier than it should until the owner corrects it in the firmware. A light whose thermal behavior depends on the buyer knowing about a configuration menu is a light that ships unfinished for most buyers.
| # | Light | Max output | Battery | Lumens / $ | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No listing image Sofirn SC31 Pro Best lumens per dollar overall | 2,000 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 2 | No listing image Wurkkos FC11 Best color quality per dollar | 1,300 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 3 | No listing image Sofirn SC21 Pro Best keychain light with a replaceable cell | 1,100 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by the price the light is selling for. Where we have not pulled a live price, the column says so instead of showing you a number we cannot stand behind. See how we work this out.
The cell is the actual product
Strip the marketing away and what you are buying for around thirty dollars is a well-made aluminum tube built around a commodity 18650. That sounds like a criticism. It is the opposite, and it is the single reason this light leads our rankings.
An 18650 is an industry-standard cell made by dozens of manufacturers and sold everywhere. When the one in this light has given up its capacity — three years, five years, depending on how hard you cycle it — you unscrew the tailcap, drop in a new one, and the light is effectively new. Compare that with a sealed light at the same price: when its battery reaches the end of its cycle life, the emitter, the driver, the optic, the switch and the machined body all go in the bin with it. Two lights with identical lumens-per-dollar figures on the day of purchase can differ threefold over a decade, and this is where that difference comes from.
IPX8 is unusual at this price
IPX8 means the manufacturer states the light survives continuous immersion beyond one meter, at a depth and duration the manufacturer itself defines. Most lights at this price publish IPX4, which is splash resistance, or publish nothing at all — and a missing water rating is its own kind of answer. Sofirn publishing IPX8 here, against Wurkkos publishing IPX7 on the FC11, is one of the few places where the SC31 Pro wins on documentation rather than on output. Our guide to IP and IPX ratings sets out what those digits do and do not promise.
Anduril 2 is the price of admission
The SC31 Pro ships with Anduril 2, the open-source firmware the budget enthusiast brands have standardized on. It gives you smooth brightness ramping instead of four fixed steps, configurable shortcuts, a battery-check readout, a lockout, and a deep configuration menu that includes the thermal calibration mentioned above.
It is also, for the first week, irritating. Click counts do different things depending on which state you start from, and nothing in the box makes that obvious. People who like flashlights find this delightful; people who simply want a flashlight find it exhausting. That divide is real and we are not going to pretend it is a footnote — it is the most common reason somebody sends this light back, and it has nothing to do with how well the light works.
listing
image
1. Best lumens per dollar overall
Sofirn SC31 Pro
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Two thousand published lumens out of a standard 18650 you can buy anywhere for a few dollars, in a light that costs less than most brands charge for a keychain. The cell is the whole argument: when it dies in three years you replace a battery, not a flashlight.
- Max output
- 2,000 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IPX8
What it gets right
- Standard 18650 cell — replacements cost a few dollars and are sold everywhere
- IPX8, the strongest water rating in this price class
- USB-C charging built into the light, so no separate charger to lose
- Anduril firmware gives real ramping control rather than four fixed steps
What it gets wrong
- Sofirn publishes no per-mode runtime figures on the product page
- Anduril is genuinely confusing for the first week
- Tint varies between batches, which is the price of this price
Published specification
- Maximum output: 2,000 lumens — Sofirn published specification
- Beam distance: 226 m — Sofirn published specification
- Battery: 1 x 18650 Li-ion, user replaceable — Sofirn published specification
- Charging: USB-C, 2.5 hours with a 2A adapter — Sofirn published specification
- Water rating: IPX8 — Sofirn published specification
- Weight: 59 g without battery — Sofirn published specification
- Length: 117.5 mm — Sofirn published specification
- Emitter: SST40, 5000K or 6500K — Sofirn published specification
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page
Skip this one if
you want to press one button and get one brightness. Anduril has a shortcut for everything and a menu for everything else, and if that sounds tiring you will be happier with a three-mode light.
Buy it if: anyone who intends to keep the light for longer than the battery lasts, and does not mind reading a manual once.
- Output 9.0
- Battery 9.5
- Build 8.0
- Usability 7.0
- Overall 8.6
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
2. Best color quality per dollar
Wurkkos FC11
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
A 90-CRI emitter at a price where nobody else bothers, which means colors look like colors rather than like a parking lot. Same replaceable 18650 story as the Sofirn, plus a magnetic tail that turns it into a work light.
- Max output
- 1,300 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IPX7
What it gets right
- 90 CRI at a price where 70 CRI is normal — skin, wiring and paint read correctly
- Magnetic tailcap sticks it to anything ferrous and frees both hands
- Standard 18650, USB-C charging in the light
- Two mode groups, so you can pick a simple ramp or a stepped set
What it gets wrong
- IPX7 rather than IPX8 — fine for rain, not for a river
- High CRI costs raw lumens; the Sofirn is visibly brighter on turbo
- No per-mode runtime published on the product page
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,300 lumens — Wurkkos published specification
- Beam distance: 144 m (157 yd) — Wurkkos published specification
- Battery: 1 x 18650 Li-ion, user replaceable — Wurkkos published specification
- Water rating: IPX7 — Wurkkos published specification
- Weight: 65 g +/- 1 g without battery — Wurkkos published specification
- Length: 116.23 mm — Wurkkos published specification
- Emitter: Nichia 519A / LH351D, 90 CRI — Wurkkos published specification
- Body: 6061 aluminum, type III hard anodized — Wurkkos published specification
Skip this one if
the only number you care about is peak output. You are paying part of this light's budget for color accuracy, and if you will never notice that, the money is better spent elsewhere.
Buy it if: anyone who uses a flashlight to look at things closely — wiring, paint, engine bays, a face — rather than to light up a field.
- Output 7.5
- Battery 9.5
- Build 8.0
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 8.4
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
3. Best keychain light with a replaceable cell
Sofirn SC21 Pro
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Eleven hundred lumens from a keyring-sized body with a 16340 you can actually swap. Almost every rival at this size seals the battery in, which turns the light into a two-year consumable.
- Max output
- 1,100 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- A replaceable cell in a keychain-sized light, which is genuinely rare
- Magnetic tail, so it doubles as a hands-free task light
- USB-C in the light rather than a proprietary dock
What it gets wrong
- Sofirn publishes neither runtime nor a water rating for this model
- 1,100 lumens out of a 16340 is a very short-lived 1,100 lumens
- Anduril on a light this small means a lot of clicking
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,100 lumens — Sofirn published specification
- Beam distance: 131 m — Sofirn published specification
- Battery: 1 x 16340 Li-ion, included and replaceable — Sofirn published specification
- Charging: USB-C into the light — Sofirn published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tailcap and pocket clip — Sofirn published specification
- Water rating: Not published on the product page
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page
Skip this one if
you want a published IP rating. Sofirn does not state one for this model, and we are not going to guess on your behalf.
Buy it if: someone who wants keychain size without accepting a disposable battery.
- Output 7.5
- Battery 8.5
- Build 7.0
- Usability 7.0
- Overall 7.8
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
When to buy something else
Three specific cases where this is the wrong purchase, in the order they come up most often. None of them is a knock on the light; they are all a mismatch between what it is and what the buyer wanted.
- You want one button and one brightness. Buy a simple three-mode light and enjoy it. Anduril will not grow on you if you have already decided it will not.
- You need colors to read correctly — wiring, paint, an engine bay, a face. The SST40 is an output emitter, not a color-accurate one. The Wurkkos FC11 gives up seven hundred lumens for a 90-CRI emitter and is the better buy for close inspection work.
- You want it in a front pocket all day. At 117.5 millimeters this is a jacket-pocket or bag light. Sofirn's own SC21 Pro is the smaller answer, and our EDC rankings cover the rest of that shape.
How we scored it
Four attributes, each out of ten, weighted as published on our methodology page: output against price, battery architecture, build as evidenced by the published ratings, and usability. The SC31 Pro scores at or near the top of the first three of anything on this site and is marked down on the fourth, because Anduril costs a real number of buyers a real amount of patience. One further adjustment applies here, as it does anywhere: a light whose headline output carries no published runtime is scored below one whose does. It still leads, which is a measure of how far ahead the other three attributes are rather than a sign we let the missing row slide.
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.
What we cannot tell you
We have not had this light in our hands. We cannot tell you what the tint looks like beside a warmer emitter, how the knurling feels after a winter, whether the anodizing survives a toolbox, whether the threads are smooth out of the box, how consistent one unit is against another from a different batch, or what Sofirn's support is like when something fails. Budget brands are most variable on precisely those points. Where somebody measures properly — the BudgetLightForum thread cited below runs real instruments — read them alongside this page and treat our contribution as reading the specification carefully rather than testing the product.
The bottom line
If you have decided to spend around thirty dollars on a rechargeable flashlight and you are willing to read a firmware manual once, this is the light with the strongest published case in the category: the most lumens per dollar we rank, the strongest water rating in its price class, and a cell you can keep replacing indefinitely. If you would rather press a button and get light, or you need colors to read true, buy one of the alternatives above instead. The ranking is a piece of arithmetic, not an instruction.
Common questions
Is the Sofirn SC31 Pro worth it?
On published figures it is the strongest value case we rank: 2,000 lumens, IPX8, USB-C charging and a replaceable 18650 at a price where sealed cells and unpublished water ratings are normal. It is worth it if you will tolerate Anduril firmware for a week and you do not need color-accurate light. It is not worth it if you want a single-button light, in which case the same money buys a simpler flashlight you will enjoy more.
How long does the Sofirn SC31 Pro run on a charge?
Sofirn does not publish a runtime for any mode, so we will not print a figure. What can be said honestly is that no aluminum tube of this size sheds the heat of 2,000 lumens for long, so the maximum output is a burst rather than a mode and the sustained level beneath it is what you will actually use. If a published runtime is a requirement for you, Wurkkos prints one — one hour fourteen minutes at 1,400 lumens on the TS10 — and that is a legitimate reason to buy the other brand.
Is the Sofirn SC31 Pro actually 2,000 lumens?
Sofirn publishes 2,000 lumens as the maximum. One independent reviewer on BudgetLightForum measured 2,434 lumens at turn-on and 2,255 at thirty seconds on his own sample and equipment, which would make the published claim conservative rather than inflated. Treat that as a single data point from one unit rather than as a verified specification, and remember it describes the first thirty seconds only.
Does the Sofirn SC31 Pro come with a battery?
It depends on the seller and on which kit you buy. The SC31 Pro is listed both with and without an 18650 cell, and that difference is worth several dollars against a light that costs around thirty, so read the listing rather than assuming. A light bought without its cell needs one before it does anything at all.
Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?
It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.
Sources
- Sofirn published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Wurkkos published product specifications and user manuals — read 2026-09-01
- BudgetLightForum, Sofirn SC31 Pro review thread — independent bench measurements posted by forum reviewer gchart — 2,434 lumens at turn-on, 2,255 lumens at 30 seconds, plus a factory thermal-calibration error of 22 C on his sample. One reviewer, one unit, his own equipment. Read 2026-09-04.
- Lumen & Ledger method — how every figure on this page is derived
Who writes this
Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.
Read next
Sofirn vs Wurkkos
The two brands that own the value tier, compared on the specs each one publishes.
The best rechargeable flashlights for the money
The flagship ranking: every pick scored on output over price, with the arithmetic shown.
Best rechargeable flashlights under $50
Where the value curve is steepest, and the three things $50 should buy you.
IP and IPX ratings explained
What IPX4, IPX7 and IP68 mean, and why a missing rating is information too.
The 10,000-lumen problem
Why the biggest number on the box is the one you can use for the shortest time.
The Ledger
Every light we cover in one ranked table, sorted by lumens per dollar.