Flashlights
Best Rechargeable Spotlights
Every light on this page publishes the number that actually decides how far it throws. Most of the category would rather you never learned what it is.
By Scooter M. · Published September 22, 2026

Short answer
Streamlight Waypoint 400
Four hundred thousand candela and a published 1,265 meters of beam distance, with a runtime printed beside every one of its three modes. It is the furthest-throwing light on this site and the rare spotlight whose maker documents the whole spec sheet rather than the headline.

Price as of September 22, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn
Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.
How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.
The short answer
Buy a spotlight on published candela, not lumens. The Streamlight Waypoint 400 publishes 400,000 candela and 1,265 meters of beam distance, which is the longest documented throw of anything we cover. The NEBO LUXTREME SL75 gets to 362,500 candela and 1,200 meters on only 780 lumens, which makes it the best throw per lumen here. Any listing advertising hundreds of thousands or millions of lumens is fiction, and the giveaway is that it will not publish a candela figure at all.
A spotlight is a single-purpose tool. It exists to put a usable amount of light on something a long way off — a channel marker, a gate at the end of a field, a noise at the tree line, a person in the water. It is bad at almost everything else, and that focus is the point.
Which means the specification that matters is distance, and the specification most spotlights are sold on is not distance at all.
The number that decides this, and it is not lumens
Lumens measure total light output — everything leaving the light, in every direction. Candela measures beam intensity in the direction the light is pointed. Throw comes from candela. A light can produce an enormous number of lumens and scatter them uselessly into a wide cone, or produce modest lumens and concentrate them into a tight, far-reaching beam.
That is the entire difference between a flood light and a spotlight, and it is why buying a spotlight by its lumen figure is buying it on the wrong axis. The same reflector that buys you a thousand meters of throw is the reason the light is nearly useless at arm's length.
The proof, from these four lights
| Light | Lumens | Candela | Published beam distance | Runtime at that mode |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Streamlight Waypoint 400 | 1,400 | 400,000 cd | 1,265 m | 3 h 15 min |
| NEBO LUXTREME SL75 | 780 | 362,500 cd | 1,200 m | 5 hours |
| NEBO LUXTREME SL50 | 450 | 160,000 cd | 800 m | 8 hours |
| Streamlight Waypoint (C-cell) | 750 | 150,000 cd | 775 m | 10 hours |
Read the bottom two rows against each other, because they settle the argument on their own. The NEBO SL50 produces 450 lumens and throws a published 800 meters. The Streamlight Waypoint C-cell produces 750 lumens and throws 775 meters. The light with forty percent fewer lumens throws further, and it does it because its published candela is higher — 160,000 against 150,000.
The same pattern runs through the top two rows. The SL75 gives up 620 lumens to the Waypoint 400 and loses only 65 meters of reach. If you had shopped either pair on the lumen number you would have chosen wrong, and no amount of staring at the packaging would have told you.
The two-million-lumen problem
Search for a rechargeable spotlight at any major retailer and the results are dominated by listings claiming 2,000,000 lumens, 900,000 lumens, or some similar number, usually for well under fifty dollars. These figures are not exaggerations of a real measurement. They are invented.
For scale: the brightest light on this entire site publishes 3,500 lumens, and the strongest spotlight on this page publishes 1,400. Two million lumens is roughly the output of a large commercial floodlight installation, would consume more power than a handheld battery can deliver, and would produce heat a plastic body could not survive for seconds.
This matters more in spotlights than in any other category we cover, because throw is hard to judge by eye in a shop and impossible to judge from a photograph. The invented number is doing all the selling, and the four lights here are on this page largely because they published enough to be checked.
The criteria, before any pick
- 1.A published candela figure. This is an entry requirement rather than a preference — without it there is no way to compare throw, and its absence is itself informative.
- 2.A published runtime at the mode you will actually use. High mode on a spotlight is power-hungry, and three hours against ten hours is a real difference on a long night.
- 3.A water rating, stated. These get used on boats and in weather more than any other category, and IPX8 with a float claim is worth a great deal more than a vague assurance.
- 4.A low mode with a long runtime. A spotlight that also does 30 to 90 hours at a few tens of lumens stops being a single-purpose tool and becomes an outage light as well.
- 5.Weight and grip. All four of these are between one and a half and two and a bit pounds, which is fine for bursts and tiring held up continuously.
- 6.Some way to put it down aimed: a magnetic base, a tripod thread or a stand. Holding a spotlight steady on a distant object for minutes is harder than it sounds.
| # | Light | Max output | Battery | Lumens / $ | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Streamlight Waypoint 400 Longest published throw here | 1,400 | Sealed | 10 | $134.04 on Amazon Price as of September 22, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 2 | ![]() Streamlight Waypoint (C-cell) Best spotlight for a drawer | 750 | Replaceable | 10 | $75.99 on Amazon Price as of September 22, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 3 | ![]() NEBO LUXTREME SL75 Best throw per lumen | 780 | Replaceable | 7 | $119.00 on Amazon Price as of September 22, 2026 — 7 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 4 | ![]() NEBO LUXTREME SL50 Best value in a real spotlight | 450 | Replaceable | 6 | $78.14 on Amazon Price as of September 22, 2026 — 6 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
Prices pulled September 22, 2026. Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by that price, recomputed every time the price moves.

1. Longest published throw here
Streamlight Waypoint 400
Lumens per dollar
10
Four hundred thousand candela and a published 1,265 meters of beam distance, with a runtime printed beside every one of its three modes. It is the furthest-throwing light on this site and the rare spotlight whose maker documents the whole spec sheet rather than the headline.
- Max output
- 1,400 lm
- Runtime
- 3 h 15 min
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- IPX8
What it gets right
- Lumens, candela, beam distance AND runtime published for all three modes
- Four hundred thousand candela is the highest published beam intensity on this site
- IPX8 to two meters and it floats, which is the right specification for a boat
- Eighty-four hours on low turns a throw light into a usable outage light
What it gets wrong
- Streamlight does not state whether the cell is user-replaceable on the page we read
- Three and a quarter hours on high is short if you are working rather than searching
- It is a pistol-grip spotlight, so it is not going anywhere near a pocket
- Costs several times what a capable handheld flashlight costs
Published specification
- High: 1,400 lumens, 400,000 cd, 1,265 m, 3.25 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Medium: 600 lumens, 165,000 cd, 812 m, 7.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Low: 38 lumens, 10,000 cd, 200 m, 84 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Battery: Rechargeable lithium-ion, 4-hour charge — Streamlight published specification
- Battery replaceability: Not stated on the product page we read
- Water rating: IPX8, waterproof to 2 m — and it floats — Streamlight published specification
- Impact: 1 m tested — Streamlight published specification
- Weight: 1.52 lb (691 g) — Streamlight published specification
Skip this one if
you want one light for general use. A 400,000-candela beam puts its light in a tight circle a long way away, which is close to useless indoors or at arm's length.
Buy it if: boaters, search volunteers, large-property owners and anyone whose actual problem is identifying something several hundred meters away.
- Output 9.5
- Battery 6.0
- Build 9.5
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 8.6
Price as of September 22, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

2. Best spotlight for a drawer
Streamlight Waypoint (C-cell)
Lumens per dollar
10
The same Waypoint body running on four C cells instead of a rechargeable pack: 750 lumens, 150,000 candela, 775 meters, and ten hours on high. It is here for one reason — alkaline cells sit on a shelf for years and a lithium pack does not.
- Max output
- 750 lm
- Runtime
- 10 h
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IPX4
What it gets right
- Ten hours on high, the longest high-mode runtime of the four
- C alkalines store for years, so it works after two years in a cupboard
- Ninety-two hours on low and a published 82-hour emergency signal mode
- Full published figures for every mode, candela included
What it gets wrong
- Not rechargeable, so the running cost is C cells
- IPX4 only — the rechargeable Waypoint 400 publishes IPX8 and floats
- One point eight pounds with cells in, and C cells are not cheap
- One hundred and fifty thousand candela is the lowest throw figure on this page
Published specification
- High: 750 lumens, 150,000 cd, 775 m, 10 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Low: 60 lumens, 12,000 cd, 219 m, 92 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Emergency signal: 82 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Battery: 4 x C alkaline — Streamlight published specification
- Water rating: IPX4, water resistant — Streamlight published specification
- Impact: 1 m tested — Streamlight published specification
- Weight: 1.8 lb (816 g) with batteries — Streamlight published specification
Skip this one if
the light will be used regularly. Feeding a spotlight on disposable C cells is an expensive way to own one, and the rechargeable models cost less to run within a year.
Buy it if: the boat locker, the storm shelf and the truck of somebody who needs it to work the first time after a long wait.
- Output 6.5
- Battery 8.0
- Build 9.0
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 7.9
Price as of September 22, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

3. Best throw per lumen
NEBO LUXTREME SL75
Lumens per dollar
7
Three hundred and sixty-two thousand candela out of only 780 lumens, which is the whole argument of this page in one product: it throws almost as far as a 1,400-lumen light using 44 percent fewer lumens, because throw is optics and intensity rather than raw output.
- Max output
- 780 lm
- Runtime
- 5 h
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IP67
What it gets right
- Candela, lumens, beam distance and runtime published for every mode
- Nine thousand milliamp-hours across two standard 21700 cells
- IP67 plus a magnetic base and a tripod thread, which is unusual on a spotlight
- Thirty hours on low, so it doubles as an outage light rather than a single-purpose tool
What it gets wrong
- NEBO does not explicitly state that the 21700 cells are user-replaceable
- Two point one pounds is heavy to hold up for any length of time
- Seven hundred and eighty lumens looks unimpressive next to the fictional numbers its shelf rivals print
- IP67 rather than the IPX8 Streamlight publishes, and it is not stated to float
Published specification
- High: 780 lumens, 362,500 cd, 1,200 m, 5 hours — NEBO published specification
- Medium: 400 lumens, 157,500 cd, 793 m, 10.5 hours — NEBO published specification
- Low: 100 lumens, 35,000 cd, 374 m, 30 hours — NEBO published specification
- Battery: 2 x 21700 Li-ion, 7.4 V, 9,000 mAh, included — NEBO published specification
- Recharge time: About 3 hours, depending on USB output — NEBO published specification
- Water rating: IP67 — NEBO published specification
- Weight: 2.1 lb — NEBO published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic base, tripod mount, steel clip — NEBO published specification
Skip this one if
you need flood light. This is a thrower, and a thrower is the wrong instrument for lighting a space you are standing in.
Buy it if: anyone who wants maximum distance per dollar and would rather have a documented 780 lumens than an invented two million.
- Output 8.0
- Battery 9.0
- Build 8.5
- Usability 8.5
- Overall 8.5
Price as of September 22, 2026 — 7 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

4. Best value in a real spotlight
NEBO LUXTREME SL50
Lumens per dollar
6
Four hundred and fifty lumens that throw 800 meters, which is further than a 750-lumen Streamlight manages, because it publishes 160,000 candela against the Streamlight's 150,000. Cheaper than everything else here and it still prints a full mode table.
- Max output
- 450 lm
- Runtime
- 8 h
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IP67
What it gets right
- Eight hundred meters of published throw from only 450 lumens
- Forty hours on low, the longest published low mode of the four
- Full mode table — candela, lumens, distance and runtime for all three settings
- The cheapest way onto this page without buying a fictional lumen claim
What it gets wrong
- Four hundred and fifty lumens is genuinely modest; this is a throw tool, not a bright light
- NEBO does not explicitly state that the cells are user-replaceable
- NEBO's published weight figure for this model looks inconsistent with the rest of its spec sheet, so we have not repeated it
- No magnetic base or tripod mount, unlike its larger sibling
Published specification
- High: 450 lumens, 160,000 cd, 800 m, 8 hours — NEBO published specification
- Medium: 250 lumens, 80,000 cd, 565 m, 19 hours — NEBO published specification
- Low: 50 lumens, 15,200 cd, 246 m, 40 hours — NEBO published specification
- Battery: 2 x 21700 Li-ion, 3.7 V, 9,000 mAh, included — NEBO published specification
- Recharge time: 3 hours at 2.0 A; 12 hours at 0.5 A — NEBO published specification
- Water rating: IP67 — NEBO published specification
Skip this one if
you want the beam to light up more than a narrow circle at the far end. At 450 lumens there is not much spill, and the near field stays dark.
Buy it if: the buyer who wants to see a long way, does not want to spend a hundred dollars, and has worked out that candela is the number that does it.
- Output 6.5
- Battery 9.0
- Build 8.0
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 8.1
Price as of September 22, 2026 — 6 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn
Beam distance is a weaker measure than it looks
The meter figures above are the ones buyers respond to, so it is worth knowing exactly what they mean. Under the ANSI FL 1 convention, beam distance is the distance at which the beam has fallen to 0.25 lux — roughly the illumination of a full moon on a clear night.
That is enough light to detect that something is there. It is not enough to identify it. So a published 1,265 meters does not mean you can recognize a person at 1,265 meters; it means that at that distance there is about as much light on them as the moon provides. Practical recognition distance is a fraction of the rated figure on every light ever made, whoever made it.
It also explains why the meter figures compress at the top end. Because illumination falls with the square of distance, roughly quadrupling candela is what it takes to double beam distance. The Waypoint 400 has two and a half times the candela of the SL50 and reaches about 1.6 times as far, which is exactly the relationship the arithmetic predicts.
What a spotlight is bad at
Everything within about thirty feet. A tight, intense beam at close range is glare: it reflects off whatever you point it at, contracts your pupils and leaves everything outside the hotspot darker than before you switched it on. Trying to read a label, work on an engine or walk a path with one of these is genuinely worse than using a cheap flood light.
They are also heavy, they are power-hungry at the setting you bought them for, and they are conspicuous — a thousand-meter beam is visible to everyone within a thousand meters. None of that is a criticism of the products. It is a description of what a specialized tool is, and the mistake to avoid is buying one as a general-purpose light.
If you want one light that does most things well, a handheld with a balanced beam is the better purchase and we rank those separately. A spotlight is a second light, bought for a specific problem.
Boating, property and hunting
Boating is the use case these are genuinely best at, and it is why the water rating deserves the weight we gave it. Picking up an unlit channel marker or a mooring at distance is exactly the job, and the Waypoint 400's published IPX8 rating and float claim are the most valuable specifications on this page for anyone on the water.
Large property is the second: checking a gate, a barn, a treeline or a noise at the far end of a field without walking out to it. Here the long low modes matter as much as the throw, because most of the time the light is on you are not searching.
Hunting is the third and it comes with a caution we would rather state plainly than skip. The use of artificial light in connection with taking game is regulated, and the rules differ substantially between states and between species, seasons and methods. We are not going to summarize any state's law here, because getting it wrong would be worse than saying nothing. Check your own state wildlife agency's current regulations before using a spotlight in the field, and treat predator, varmint and game rules as separate questions.
What to skip
- Any spotlight advertising six- or seven-figure lumens. The number is invented and its presence tells you the rest of the listing is unreliable.
- Spotlights that publish no candela figure. Without it you cannot compare throw against anything, which is the only reason to buy the category.
- Buying one as your only light. It is bad at close range by design, and you will end up buying a second light anyway.
- Zoom or focusing heads on a throw light. Beam quality is the product here, and a zoom optic trades it away for adjustability you will set once.
- A big lumen figure with no runtime beside it. On a spotlight the high mode drains fast, and a manufacturer that hides the duration is hiding the part that matters.
How we ranked these
Published candela over the live price is the primary measure on this page rather than the site's usual lumens per dollar, because lumens are the wrong numerator for a throw tool and we would rather change the arithmetic than rank the category wrongly. Published runtime, water rating and the completeness of the mode table then adjust it, and a light that failed to publish candela could not appear here at all.
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.
What we cannot tell you
We have not used any of these lights, measured a beam, or stood at the far end of a field with a light meter. Every figure above is the manufacturer's own, repeated with its source named and its read date recorded.
Two specific gaps are worth naming. Streamlight does not state on the page we read whether the Waypoint 400's lithium-ion cell is user-replaceable, and NEBO names the 21700 cells in both LUXTREME models without explicitly saying they can be changed by the owner — so on all three rechargeable lights, treat replaceability as unconfirmed rather than assumed. And none of these manufacturers publishes a CRI figure, so how accurately any of them renders color at distance is unknown to us.
Common questions
What is the brightest handheld spotlight?
Of the lights we cover, the Streamlight Waypoint 400 publishes the highest figures: 1,400 lumens, 400,000 candela and 1,265 meters of beam distance, with a 3.25-hour runtime at that setting. Be careful with the word brightest, though — listings claiming 900,000 or 2,000,000 lumens are advertising invented numbers, and none of them publishes a candela figure you could check the claim against.
Do more lumens mean a longer beam?
No, and the four lights on this page demonstrate it. The NEBO LUXTREME SL50 produces 450 lumens and throws a published 800 meters; the Streamlight Waypoint C-cell produces 750 lumens and throws 775 meters. Lumens measure total output in all directions; candela measures intensity in the direction you are pointing, and candela is what produces throw. Buy a spotlight on its candela figure.
Are 2,000,000 lumen spotlights real?
No. For scale, the brightest light we cover anywhere publishes 3,500 lumens and the strongest spotlight on this page publishes 1,400. Two million lumens is floodlight-installation territory — it would need more power than a handheld battery can supply and would generate heat a plastic housing could not survive. The reliable tell is that these listings never publish candela, beam distance to a standard, or a per-mode runtime, because those figures can be checked.
Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?
It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.
Sources
- Streamlight published product specifications — per-mode lumens, runtime, beam distance, impact and IP ratings, read 2026-09-01; Waypoint 400 and Waypoint C-cell read 2026-09-22
- NEBO published product specifications — mode-by-mode lumen, runtime and beam figures, read 2026-09-01; LUXTREME SL75 and SL50 read 2026-09-22
- Streamlight, ANSI Information — definitions of light output, beam distance, run time, impact and water resistance under the FL1 standard, read 2026-09-01
- Lumen & Ledger method — how every figure on this page is derived
Who writes this
Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.
Read next
Lumens vs candela
One measures how much light there is. The other measures how far it goes.
The 10,000-lumen problem
Why the biggest number on the box is the one you can use for the shortest time.
Best high-lumen rechargeable flashlights
High output judged on sustained performance rather than a thirty-second peak.
Best waterproof rechargeable flashlights
Ranked strictly by the published IP digit, because on this one spec the marketing word is worthless.
Best flashlights for tracking deer
Why red light is the wrong color for a blood trail, from the hemoglobin absorption data itself.
The Ledger
Every light we cover in one ranked table, sorted by lumens per dollar.