Skip to content
Lumen & Ledger

Flashlights

NITECORE vs Olight

Two brands at almost the same price with opposite ideas about who should own the battery. That single disagreement decides most of this.

By Scooter M. · Published September 26, 2026

A person holding a small flashlight, its beam lighting a page in the dark

Short answer

NITECORE MT2A Pro

A thousand lumens and 255 meters out of a penlight body that runs on its own removable 14500 or on two AA cells from any shop on earth. IP68 on top. It is the rare light that answers the shelf-life problem and the output problem in the same package.

NITECORE MT2A Pro
$44.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 26, 2026 — 22 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.

How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.

The short answer

Buy NITECORE if you want a light that is not dependent on one company: the MT2A Pro runs on its own 14500 cell or on two AA batteries from any shop on earth, and NITECORE publishes an IP68 rating and a 1-meter impact figure to go with it. Buy Olight if you want the nicer object to carry and use: the charging is cleverer, the bodies are smaller, and the brand discounts hard and often. The cost of the Olight is that its cells are Olight parts and the two models we cover publish no water rating at all.

Neither of these is a budget brand. Both sit above the value tier where Sofirn and Wurkkos compete, both make genuinely good hardware, and anyone telling you one of them is simply better than the other is selling something. They disagree about one specific thing, and once you have seen what it is the choice usually makes itself.

Published specifications, side by side

NITECORE and Olight published specifications compared
NITECORE MT2A ProNITECORE NU25 MCT ULOlight i5R EOSOlight i1R 2 PRO
Maximum output1,000 lumens400 lumens350 lumens180 lumens
Beam distance255 m132 m64 m48 m
Peak beam intensity16,500 cdNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Longest published runtime20 h at 50 lm45 h at 6 lm37 h at 15 lmUp to 12 h
Runtime for every mode?No — maximum onlyNo — maximum onlyNoNo
Battery2 x AA, or NL1416R 14500Built-in 700 mAhOlight 1,420 mAh 14500Built-in 130 mAh
Water ratingIP68, 2 mIP66Not statedNot stated
Impact rating1 mNot publishedNot statedNot stated
Weight40 g without battery47 g with headband2.2 ozNot stated
Read from each manufacturer's own product pages. NITECORE NU25 and both Olight models read 2026-09-01; NITECORE MT2A Pro read 2026-09-13. Not stated means the manufacturer published no figure on the pages we read, and we are not going to supply one.

Two rows in that table are worth reading twice, and they point in opposite directions.

What NITECORE publishes and Olight does not

The water and impact rows. NITECORE states IP68 to two meters on the MT2A Pro, IP66 on the NU25, and a 1-meter impact figure on the MT2A Pro. Olight states none of these for either model we cover. An unstated rating is not a low rating — it is an absence, and we will not convert one into the other — but for a light that might get rained on it is the difference between a claim you can hold a manufacturer to and no claim at all.

NITECORE also publishes a peak beam intensity figure, 16,500 candela on the MT2A Pro, which is the number that actually determines how far a beam reaches. Neither brand publishes it for the other three lights. If you want to understand why that figure matters more than lumens for throw, we have a page on exactly that.

What neither brand publishes, in fairness

The per-mode runtime row is a criticism of both companies equally, and it would be dishonest to present this page as NITECORE keeping better records when on the most important figure on the site neither of them does.

NITECORE publishes a maximum runtime — twenty hours at 50 lumens for the MT2A Pro, forty-five hours at 6 lumens for the NU25 — and no figure for the modes in between. Olight publishes thirty-seven hours at 15 lumens for the i5R EOS and an unqualified up to 12 hours for the i1R 2 PRO. In every case you are told what the light does at its dimmest and left to guess what it does at the setting you will actually use. Streamlight, Black Diamond and Petzl all publish a full table. These two do not.

The cell is the real decision

This is where the brands genuinely diverge, and it is not a specification so much as a philosophy about who should own the consumable part of your flashlight.

The NITECORE MT2A Pro takes two AA cells or NITECORE's own NL1416R 14500. That means it runs at full capability on the rechargeable cell and still works — at lower output — on batteries from a gas station, a hotel gift shop or the back of a drawer. On a light kept for emergencies that is close to the whole argument, and it is the same reasoning behind the AA lights we rate highly elsewhere.

Olight answers differently. The i5R EOS uses an Olight 1,420 mAh 14500 with the USB-C charging circuit built into the cell itself, which is genuinely clever: there is no port flap in the body to fail, and that flap is the usual first failure on a cheap rechargeable. The trade is that the cell is an Olight part. It is replaceable, and you replace it from one company, for as long as that company chooses to sell it.

The i1R 2 PRO goes all the way and seals a 130 mAh cell in. At that capacity the light is a consumable rather than a possession, which is Olight's own published figure rather than our inference, and at keyring prices that is a defensible thing to sell. NITECORE's NU25 does the same thing with a 700 mAh cell, so neither brand is innocent here.

#LightMax outputBatteryLumens / $Price
1
NITECORE MT2A Pro
NITECORE MT2A Pro

Best dual-power pocket light

1,000Replaceable22
$44.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 26, 2026 — 22 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

2
NITECORE NU25 MCT UL
NITECORE NU25 MCT UL

Lightest headlamp with a real published runtime

400Sealed11
$36.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 26, 2026 — 11 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

3
No
listing
image
Olight i5R EOS

Best simple twist-free EDC

350ReplaceableNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

4
No
listing
image
Olight i1R 2 PRO

Smallest light worth putting on a keyring

180SealedNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

Prices pulled September 26, 2026. Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by that price, recomputed every time the price moves.

NITECORE MT2A Pro

1. Best dual-power pocket light

NITECORE MT2A Pro

Lumens per dollar

22

A thousand lumens and 255 meters out of a penlight body that runs on its own removable 14500 or on two AA cells from any shop on earth. IP68 on top. It is the rare light that answers the shelf-life problem and the output problem in the same package.

Max output
1,000 lm
Runtime
20 h
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
IP68

What it gets right

  • Dual power: a removable 14500 for output, or two AA cells when there is no charger
  • IP68 to two meters, which almost nothing at this size publishes
  • Two hundred and fifty-five meters of throw from a penlight-shaped body
  • The charging port is in the cell, so a spare cell charges while the light is in use

What it gets wrong

  • NITECORE publishes only the maximum runtime, not a figure per mode
  • On alkaline AA cells the output is far below the 1,000-lumen headline
  • A penlight body is long for its diameter and rolls off a sloped surface

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 1,000 lumens — NITECORE published specification
  • Peak beam intensity: 16,500 cd — NITECORE published specification
  • Beam distance: 255 m — NITECORE published specification
  • Battery: 2 x AA, or 1 x NL1416R 14500 Li-ion with USB-C charging in the cell — NITECORE published specification
  • Water rating: IP68, submersible to 2 m — NITECORE published specification
  • Impact: 1 m — NITECORE published specification
  • Weight: 40 g (1.41 oz) without battery — NITECORE published specification
  • Length: 142.8 mm — NITECORE published specification
  • Modes: Three brightness levels, single tail switch — NITECORE published specification
  • Maximum runtime: 20 hours at 50 lumens — NITECORE published specification
  • Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page

Skip this one if

you want the smallest possible pocket light. At 142.8 mm this is a long, thin light rather than a short one, and that shape suits a shirt pocket better than a jeans pocket.

Buy it if: anyone who wants one light for both daily use and the drawer, and refuses to be stopped by a flat cell.

  • Output 8.0
  • Battery 9.5
  • Build 9.0
  • Usability 8.0
  • Overall 8.6
$44.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 26, 2026 — 22 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

NITECORE NU25 MCT UL

2. Lightest headlamp with a real published runtime

NITECORE NU25 MCT UL

Lumens per dollar

11

Forty-seven grams including the headband, 400 lumens, and 45 hours at its 6-lumen setting. On a headlamp the weight figure matters more than the lumen figure, because the lamp you stop wearing produces no light at all.

Max output
400 lm
Runtime
45 h at 6 lm
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
IP66

What it gets right

  • Forty-seven grams with the band on — you forget it is there
  • Three color temperatures plus red, which is unusual at any price
  • IP66 and a published 45-hour low-mode runtime

What it gets wrong

  • Sealed 700 mAh cell; no way to carry a spare
  • Four hundred lumens is modest for trail running at speed
  • Flat band with no over-the-top strap on the ultralight version

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 400 lumens — NITECORE published specification
  • Beam distance: 132 m — NITECORE published specification
  • Runtime: Up to 45 hours at 6 lumens — NITECORE published specification
  • Battery: Built-in 700 mAh Li-ion, USB-C — NITECORE published specification
  • Weight: 47 g (1.66 oz) including bracket and headband — NITECORE published specification
  • Water rating: IP66 — NITECORE published specification
  • Color temperatures: 3,000K / 4,500K / 6,500K plus auxiliary red — NITECORE published specification

Skip this one if

you need to swap a battery mid-shift. A sealed 700 mAh cell means your night ends when it does.

Buy it if: hikers, campers and anyone whose complaint about headlamps is that they bounce.

  • Output 6.5
  • Battery 4.5
  • Weight 9.5
  • Usability 8.5
  • Overall 7.8
$36.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 26, 2026 — 11 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

3. Best simple twist-free EDC

Olight i5R EOS

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Three hundred and fifty lumens, 64 meters, and 37 hours at 15 lumens from a 1,420 mAh cell — the low-mode runtime is the number that makes this light useful. The cell is proprietary, which is the trade for how neatly the charging works.

Max output
350 lm
Runtime
37 h at 15 lm
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • Charging port is in the cell, so there is no port flap to fail
  • Thirty-seven hours at 15 lumens is a genuinely useful published figure
  • Tail switch with momentary-on

What it gets wrong

  • The 14500 is an Olight part, not a standard cell you can buy anywhere
  • No water rating on the product pages we could read
  • Three hundred and fifty lumens is modest for the price

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 350 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Beam distance: 64 m — Olight published specification
  • Output range: 15 to 350 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Runtime: 37 hours at 15 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Battery: Olight 1,420 mAh 14500 with integrated USB-C — Olight published specification
  • Weight: 2.2 oz — Olight published specification
  • Length: 95.4 mm — Olight published specification
  • Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read

Skip this one if

you want to standardize on one battery type across your lights. Olight's ecosystem is convenient right up to the point where you want a spare from a different shop.

Buy it if: someone who wants an EDC light that never needs thinking about, and does not mind buying replacement cells from one company.

  • Output 5.5
  • Battery 6.5
  • Build 8.5
  • Usability 9.0
  • Overall 7.4
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

4. Smallest light worth putting on a keyring

Olight i1R 2 PRO

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

One hundred and eighty lumens and 48 meters from something the size of a AAA cell, with 12 hours of published runtime on low. The 130 mAh battery is sealed in, so treat it as a two-year item bought at a two-year price.

Max output
180 lm
Runtime
Up to 12 h
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • Small enough that it genuinely stays on the keyring
  • Twist-head operation with no switch to press in a pocket
  • USB-C without disassembling the light

What it gets wrong

  • One hundred and thirty milliamp-hours sealed in — this is a consumable
  • Twist interface means you cannot operate it one-handed while holding something
  • No published water rating

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 180 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Beam distance: 48 m — Olight published specification
  • Low mode: 5 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Runtime: Up to 12 hours — Olight published specification
  • Battery: Built-in 130 mAh lithium-ion — Olight published specification
  • Charging: USB-C, full charge in 100 minutes — Olight published specification
  • Length: 2.02 in — Olight published specification
  • Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read

Skip this one if

you expect a keyring light to last a decade. It will not, and at 130 mAh nothing this size will.

Buy it if: the keyring, where the alternative is having no light at all.

  • Output 4.0
  • Battery 3.5
  • Build 8.0
  • Usability 8.5
  • Overall 6.4
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

A fairness note about which four lights these are

These are the NITECORE and Olight lights in our registry, which means they are compact and mid-priced rather than each brand's flagship. That matters for one specific conclusion above, and we would rather flag it than let it stand as a brand-wide verdict.

The two Olight models here publish no water rating. We do not read that as an Olight-wide policy: Olight's current Baton line is widely advertised with an IPX8 rating, and Olight's own store page for the Baton 4 Pro states 1,600 lumens and USB-C charging in its title. We could not read Olight's own specification table for that light — the page renders its specs in a way our fetcher cannot extract — so we have not featured it and are not publishing figures for it from a retailer. Treat the missing ratings above as true of these two models rather than of the brand.

The same caution runs the other way. NITECORE's range is enormous, it reaches far higher outputs than the 1,000 lumens shown here, and nothing on this page should be read as a claim about models we have not looked at.

How each brand sells, and what it does to the price

Olight sells primarily through its own store and runs frequent, deep promotions, which is why no fixed price appears in this page's prose and why the figures beside each pick are pulled live. It is also worth knowing before you buy: an Olight is often worth waiting for, because the same light will be meaningfully cheaper during a sale.

That direct-sales model has a second consequence we have run into repeatedly. Olight's Amazon listings go in and out of stock — when we checked on 2026-09-21 the i5R EOS listing returned Currently unavailable — which is why both Olight lights on this page use a tagged Amazon search rather than a link to one listing. A search finds whatever is live; a link to a dead listing does not.

NITECORE sells through ordinary distribution, so its street price is steadier and easier to buy at a predictable number. Neither approach is better in the abstract. One rewards patience and the other rewards not having to think about it.

Which one to buy

  • For a light that has to work when there is no charger: NITECORE MT2A Pro, because two AA cells are always findable and no Olight here accepts them.
  • For a keyring: Olight i1R 2 PRO. NITECORE does not make anything this small that we cover, and the twist head means nothing to snag in a pocket.
  • For rain, dust or anything wet: NITECORE, because it is the only one of the two that states a water rating on these models.
  • For the nicest thing to carry and charge daily: Olight i5R EOS, whose in-cell charging is the best-engineered detail on this page.
  • For a headlamp: NITECORE NU25 MCT UL at 47 grams, with three color temperatures and a published 45-hour low mode. Olight is not really competing here.
  • If you are buying on price and can wait: Olight, which discounts far more aggressively than NITECORE does.

The AA fallback has a cost, and NITECORE understates it

Having praised the MT2A Pro's dual power, it is only fair to say what it does not get you. Running on two AA alkaline cells does not give you a 1,000-lumen light. It gives you a working light, which is a different and lesser thing.

Alkaline cells have relatively high internal resistance and their voltage sags hard under the kind of current a 1,000-lumen emitter draws, which is the same reason the AA lights we cover elsewhere are honest about brief maximums. The fallback is insurance against having no light at all, not a way to get flagship output from batteries off a shelf.

And here NITECORE has a disclosure gap of its own, which balances the criticism this page has aimed at Olight. NITECORE publishes one maximum output figure and one maximum runtime figure for the MT2A Pro and does not break either out by power source on the page we read. So a buyer is told the light makes 1,000 lumens and runs 20 hours at 50 lumens, and is not told which cell those numbers assume. Given that dual power is the model's headline feature, that is the figure we would most want split in two, and neither brand on this page comes out of the runtime question well.

How we ranked these

Published output over the live price, adjusted for cell architecture and published ratings, with completeness of the specification weighted deliberately — on a page asking which brand to trust, what a company is willing to print before you pay is the evidence. A stated IP or impact rating earns points and a missing one costs them, and because neither brand publishes per-mode runtime, neither gains anything on that axis.

Units we claim to have tested: 0

Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.

How we work this out · How picks get chosen and changed

What we cannot tell you

We have not used any of these four lights. We cannot tell you whose anodizing survives a year in a pocket better, whose switch feels right, whose tint you will prefer, or how either company behaves on a warranty claim. Olight's reputation for customer service and NITECORE's for range are both things we have read rather than tested, and neither is in the scoring above.

We also cannot tell you how long Olight will keep selling the specific 14500 cell the i5R EOS uses, which is the one risk that matters most in a proprietary-cell purchase and the one nobody can answer — including Olight.

Common questions

Is NITECORE a good brand?

On the evidence a buyer can check before paying, yes. NITECORE publishes an IP68 rating and a 1-meter impact figure on the MT2A Pro, IP66 on the NU25 headlamp, and a peak beam intensity figure in candela that almost no brand at this price prints. Its weakness is the same as Olight's: it publishes a maximum runtime rather than a runtime for every mode, so you cannot see what the light does at the setting you will actually use. We have not tested any NITECORE light, so this is an assessment of its disclosure and specifications rather than of its durability.

Are Olight flashlights good?

The hardware is well made and the charging design is genuinely better than most — the i5R EOS puts the USB-C port inside the cell, which removes the rubber flap that usually fails first. The reservations are specific rather than general: the cells are Olight parts rather than standard ones, the i1R 2 PRO's 130 mAh battery is sealed in and makes that light a consumable, and neither model we cover publishes a water rating. Olight's current Baton line is advertised with a water rating, so treat that gap as true of these two models rather than of the whole brand.

Is Olight worth it?

It depends on whether you value the object or the independence. You are paying for smaller bodies, better charging and a more pleasant light to carry, and you are accepting that the battery comes from one company. If the light is for daily use near a charger, that is a fair trade and the discounts make it fairer. If it is for a drawer, a car or a trip away from power, a light that takes AA cells will serve you better for less money.

Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?

It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.

Sources

Who writes this

Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.

More about this site · The method behind every ranking