Skip to content
Lumen & Ledger

Flashlights

Olight vs Fenix

One brand sells output and sealing, the other sells the experience of owning it. On one of the two head-to-heads here the gap is not close at all.

By Scooter M. · Published September 27, 2026

A close-up of a flashlight projecting warm light in the dark

Short answer

Fenix C7 V2.0

Thirty-three hundred lumens and 575 meters of throw with an IP68 rating. It appears here as a reference point: this is what a well-built high-output light costs, and it is the number every budget 10,000-lumen claim should be measured against.

Fenix C7 V2.0
$79.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026 — 41 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.

How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.

The short answer

Buy Fenix if you want more light and a water rating you can hold someone to: the C7 V2.0 publishes 3,300 lumens, 575 meters and IP68, and even the keychain E06R publishes 700 lumens against Olight's 180. Buy Olight if the light is something you will handle every day and you value that more than the numbers — the in-cell USB-C charging on the i5R EOS is the best-engineered detail on this page. Neither brand publishes a runtime for every mode, so on the figure that matters most on this site, this comparison is a draw.

These two get shortlisted together constantly, usually by someone who has decided to spend more than a budget light costs and wants to know where the money goes. It goes to different places in each case, and the difference is easier to see if you stop comparing brands and compare the two actual head-to-heads.

Published specifications, side by side

Olight and Fenix published specifications compared
Fenix C7 V2.0Olight i5R EOSFenix E06ROlight i1R 2 PRO
Maximum output3,300 lumens350 lumens700 lumens180 lumens
Beam distance575 m64 m110 m48 m
Runtime publishedNot published per mode37 h at 15 lmNot published per modeUp to 12 h
Runtime for every mode?NoNoNoNo
CellRemovable, USB-COlight 1,420 mAh 14500Built-in 750 mAhBuilt-in 130 mAh
Water ratingIP68Not statedNot statedNot stated
FittingsMagnetic tail, lockoutTail switch, momentaryMagnetic tail, lockoutTwist head
Read from each manufacturer's own product pages on 2026-09-01. Not stated means the manufacturer published no figure on the pages we read, and we are not going to supply one.

The keychain match-up is lopsided

Compare the two small lights first, because this is where most people are actually choosing. The Fenix E06R publishes 700 lumens and 110 meters from a keyring-sized body with a magnetic tail and a lockout. The Olight i1R 2 PRO publishes 180 lumens and 48 meters.

That is nearly four times the output and more than twice the reach, and it is not a close call on the numbers. The i1R 2 PRO's answer is size: it is genuinely tiny, it operates by twisting the head rather than pressing anything, and it will still be on your keys in a year because you never notice it. The E06R is a real light that happens to fit on a keyring; the i1R 2 PRO is a keyring fob that happens to make light.

Both seal their cells in, and the capacities tell you how to think about each. Fenix puts 750 mAh in the E06R; Olight puts 130 mAh in the i1R 2 PRO. At 130 mAh you are buying a consumable, which is Olight's own published figure rather than our inference, and at keyring prices that is a defensible product. It is not a light to expect much from in three years.

The larger match-up is a different question entirely

The C7 V2.0 and the i5R EOS are barely the same category. Fenix publishes 3,300 lumens, 575 meters of throw and an IP68 rating; Olight publishes 350 lumens, 64 meters and no water rating at all. If you are choosing on capability, this ends immediately.

But the i5R EOS is not trying to win that fight. It publishes one genuinely excellent number — 37 hours at 15 lumens — which is the mode a pocket light spends nearly all its life in, and it charges through a USB-C port built into the cell itself rather than through a flap in the body. That flap is the usual first thing to fail on a cheap rechargeable, and removing it is a real engineering decision rather than a marketing one.

So the honest framing is that the C7 V2.0 is a tool you fetch and the i5R EOS is a light you carry. Comparing their lumen figures is comparing a floodlight with a pen.

#LightMax outputBatteryLumens / $Price
1
Fenix C7 V2.0
Fenix C7 V2.0

The throw comparison, not a value pick

3,300Replaceable41
$79.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026 — 41 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

2
Fenix E06R
Fenix E06R

Most output from a keychain body

700Sealed13
$55.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026 — 13 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

3
No
listing
image
Olight i5R EOS

Best simple twist-free EDC

350ReplaceableNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

4
No
listing
image
Olight i1R 2 PRO

Smallest light worth putting on a keyring

180SealedNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

Prices pulled September 27, 2026. Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by that price, recomputed every time the price moves.

Fenix C7 V2.0

1. The throw comparison, not a value pick

Fenix C7 V2.0

Lumens per dollar

41

Thirty-three hundred lumens and 575 meters of throw with an IP68 rating. It appears here as a reference point: this is what a well-built high-output light costs, and it is the number every budget 10,000-lumen claim should be measured against.

Max output
3,300 lm
Runtime
Not published per mode on the retail page
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
IP68

What it gets right

  • Five hundred and seventy-five meters is real throw, not a marketing figure
  • IP68 and a magnetic tail
  • Removable cell

What it gets wrong

  • Expensive by this site's standards
  • No per-mode runtime on the retail page
  • A dedicated thrower is the wrong shape of light for most jobs

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 3,300 lumens — Fenix published specification
  • Beam distance: 1,886 ft (575 m) — Fenix published specification
  • Water rating: IP68 — Fenix published specification
  • Body: Ultra-thick A6061-T6 aluminum — Fenix published specification
  • Charging: Inner-waterproofed USB-C — Fenix published specification
  • Fittings: Magnetic tail, lockout mode — Fenix published specification
  • Per-mode runtime: Not published on the retail page we read

Skip this one if

you want one light for the house. A thrower puts its light in a small circle a long way away, which is not what you want indoors.

Buy it if: search work, large properties and anyone who genuinely needs to see a third of a mile.

  • Output 9.5
  • Battery 9.0
  • Build 9.5
  • Usability 8.0
  • Overall 8.5
$79.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026 — 41 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

Fenix E06R

2. Most output from a keychain body

Fenix E06R

Lumens per dollar

13

Seven hundred lumens and 110 meters from a light that hangs off a keyring, with a 750 mAh built-in cell and a magnetic tail. It costs more than the budget keychain options and it puts out several times their light.

Max output
700 lm
Runtime
Not published per mode on the retail page
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • Seven hundred lumens from a keyring light is a genuine step up
  • Magnetic tail turns it into a hands-free task light
  • Lockout function, so it does not cook in a pocket

What it gets wrong

  • Sealed 750 mAh cell
  • The UV mode and laser pointer are features looking for a use
  • No per-mode runtime on the retail page

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 700 lumens — Fenix published specification
  • Beam distance: 361 ft (110 m) — Fenix published specification
  • Battery: Built-in 750 mAh — Fenix published specification
  • Modes: Ten, including UV and a red laser pointer — Fenix published specification
  • Fittings: Magnetic tail, key ring loop, lockout — Fenix published specification
  • Per-mode runtime: Not published on the retail page we read

Skip this one if

you want a keychain light with a replaceable cell — that is the Sofirn SC21 Pro's job here.

Buy it if: someone who wants their smallest light to still be a real light.

  • Output 7.0
  • Battery 4.0
  • Build 8.5
  • Usability 8.0
  • Overall 7.1
$55.95 on Amazon

Price as of September 27, 2026 — 13 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

3. Best simple twist-free EDC

Olight i5R EOS

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Three hundred and fifty lumens, 64 meters, and 37 hours at 15 lumens from a 1,420 mAh cell — the low-mode runtime is the number that makes this light useful. The cell is proprietary, which is the trade for how neatly the charging works.

Max output
350 lm
Runtime
37 h at 15 lm
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • Charging port is in the cell, so there is no port flap to fail
  • Thirty-seven hours at 15 lumens is a genuinely useful published figure
  • Tail switch with momentary-on

What it gets wrong

  • The 14500 is an Olight part, not a standard cell you can buy anywhere
  • No water rating on the product pages we could read
  • Three hundred and fifty lumens is modest for the price

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 350 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Beam distance: 64 m — Olight published specification
  • Output range: 15 to 350 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Runtime: 37 hours at 15 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Battery: Olight 1,420 mAh 14500 with integrated USB-C — Olight published specification
  • Weight: 2.2 oz — Olight published specification
  • Length: 95.4 mm — Olight published specification
  • Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read

Skip this one if

you want to standardize on one battery type across your lights. Olight's ecosystem is convenient right up to the point where you want a spare from a different shop.

Buy it if: someone who wants an EDC light that never needs thinking about, and does not mind buying replacement cells from one company.

  • Output 5.5
  • Battery 6.5
  • Build 8.5
  • Usability 9.0
  • Overall 7.4
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

4. Smallest light worth putting on a keyring

Olight i1R 2 PRO

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

One hundred and eighty lumens and 48 meters from something the size of a AAA cell, with 12 hours of published runtime on low. The 130 mAh battery is sealed in, so treat it as a two-year item bought at a two-year price.

Max output
180 lm
Runtime
Up to 12 h
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • Small enough that it genuinely stays on the keyring
  • Twist-head operation with no switch to press in a pocket
  • USB-C without disassembling the light

What it gets wrong

  • One hundred and thirty milliamp-hours sealed in — this is a consumable
  • Twist interface means you cannot operate it one-handed while holding something
  • No published water rating

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 180 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Beam distance: 48 m — Olight published specification
  • Low mode: 5 lumens — Olight published specification
  • Runtime: Up to 12 hours — Olight published specification
  • Battery: Built-in 130 mAh lithium-ion — Olight published specification
  • Charging: USB-C, full charge in 100 minutes — Olight published specification
  • Length: 2.02 in — Olight published specification
  • Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read

Skip this one if

you expect a keyring light to last a decade. It will not, and at 130 mAh nothing this size will.

Buy it if: the keyring, where the alternative is having no light at all.

  • Output 4.0
  • Battery 3.5
  • Build 8.0
  • Usability 8.5
  • Overall 6.4
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

Where both brands fail, equally

Neither company publishes a runtime for every mode on any of these four lights, and it would be dishonest to let one of them off. Fenix publishes 3,300 lumens for the C7 V2.0 and 700 for the E06R with no duration beside either. Olight publishes a single low-mode figure for each of its two and nothing for the modes in between.

That matters because a 3,300-lumen handheld cannot sustain 3,300 lumens — nothing that size can shed the heat — so the number is a burst whose length only the manufacturer knows. Streamlight, Black Diamond and Petzl all publish full tables. Neither of these two does, and on a site built around dividing published figures that is the single biggest reservation about both.

Neither publishes a CRI figure either, so how accurately either renders color is unknown to us.

The C7 V2.0 has been renamed, and it is worth knowing

One practical note. Our specification for this light was read from Fenix as the C7 V2.0, and the current retail listing for the same product — same 3,300 lumens, same 575 meters — is titled C7-R. Fenix appears to have renamed the model rather than changed it.

We have kept our original name and figures because those are what we read from the manufacturer, and we are flagging the rename rather than quietly swapping a name we have not re-verified. If you are shopping for it, expect to see both.

How each brand sells, and what it does to the price

Olight sells primarily through its own store and discounts hard and often, which is why no fixed price appears in this page's prose and why the figures beside each pick are pulled live. An Olight is frequently worth waiting for.

That direct model has a consequence we keep running into: Olight's Amazon listings go in and out of stock. When we checked on 2026-09-21 the i5R EOS listing returned Currently unavailable, which is why both Olight lights here use a tagged Amazon search rather than a link to one listing. A search finds whatever is live. Fenix sells through ordinary distribution and is easier to buy at a predictable number.

Which one to buy

  • For a keyring light that is actually bright: Fenix E06R, at 700 lumens against 180. Not close.
  • For the smallest thing that will still be on your keys next year: Olight i1R 2 PRO, on size alone.
  • For seeing a long way, or for anything wet or dusty: Fenix C7 V2.0, the only light here with a stated IP68.
  • For a pocket light you will use daily and charge constantly: Olight i5R EOS, whose in-cell charging is the nicest detail on this page.
  • If you need to know how long any mode lasts before you buy: neither. Look at Streamlight instead.
  • If price is the deciding factor and you can wait: Olight, which discounts far more aggressively.

What each brand does not make

A comparison is as much about the gaps as the overlap. Olight has nothing in our coverage that competes with the C7 V2.0: no thrower, nothing publishing three-figure meters, nothing with an IP68 rating. If reaching a long way is the job, this comparison is over before it starts.

Fenix, equally, has nothing that competes with the i5R EOS on the specific thing that light does well. Putting the USB-C port inside the removable cell rather than in the body is an unusual design choice, and it removes the rubber charging flap that is the most common failure point on an inexpensive rechargeable. Fenix builds better lights and Olight built a better charging arrangement.

In the middle, between about 200 and 700 lumens in a pocketable body, they compete directly, and there the E06R's raw output advantage is hard to argue with.

Where both sit against the value tier

Neither of these brands will win an arithmetic contest on this site, and it is worth saying plainly so the comparison is not read out of context. A Sofirn SC31 Pro publishes 2,000 lumens, IPX8 and a replaceable 18650 for less than either of the larger lights here costs, and on lumens per dollar it beats both comfortably.

What the extra money buys differs by brand, which is the useful way to think about it. With Fenix you are buying optics, sealing and build — 575 meters and IP68 are real engineering results a budget brand does not match. With Olight you are buying the experience of ownership: size, charging, switch feel and packaging. Neither is buying you better documentation, because on runtime neither publishes more than the budget brands do, and Wurkkos publishes more.

How we ranked these

Published output over the live price, adjusted for cell architecture and published ratings, with completeness of the specification weighted deliberately — and because neither brand publishes per-mode runtime, neither gains anything on that axis. Fenix's stated IP68 on the C7 V2.0 earns real points that Olight cannot match on these models, and Olight's published low-mode endurance earns some back.

The E06R's extra modes are a real differentiator, for better or worse

Fenix publishes ten modes on the E06R, including a UV output and a red laser pointer. That is either a genuine advantage or clutter on a keyring light, and which one depends entirely on whether you have a use for either.

Our view is that both are features looking for a use on a light this size, and that the modes you will actually cycle through are the white ones — so the extra positions mostly mean more clicking to reach what you want. If you specifically want UV for checking documents or spotting pet stains, it is a free addition on a light you were considering anyway. Olight's answer here is the opposite: the i1R 2 PRO has two levels and a twist head, and nothing to cycle at all.

Units we claim to have tested: 0

Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.

How we work this out · How picks get chosen and changed

What we cannot tell you

We have not used any of these four lights. We cannot tell you whose tint you will prefer, whose switch still feels right after a year, how the E06R's UV mode and red laser perform, or how either company handles a warranty claim. We also cannot tell you how long Olight will keep selling the specific 14500 cell the i5R EOS needs, which is the central risk in any proprietary-cell purchase and one nobody can answer in advance.

Common questions

Is Olight or Fenix better?

Fenix is better on the published numbers: 3,300 lumens and IP68 on the C7 V2.0, and 700 lumens against Olight's 180 in the keychain class. Olight is better as an object to own — the i5R EOS charges through a port built into the cell, which removes the rubber flap that usually fails first, and it publishes 37 hours at 15 lumens. Neither publishes a runtime for every mode, so if checkable figures are what you want, look at Streamlight instead of either.

Is the Fenix E06R better than the Olight i1R 2 Pro?

On output, decisively — Fenix publishes 700 lumens and 110 meters against Olight's 180 lumens and 48 meters, and the E06R adds a magnetic tail and a lockout. The i1R 2 PRO's advantage is purely size: it is small enough that you genuinely forget it is on your keys, and it twists on rather than having a button to press in a pocket. Both seal their cells in, but Fenix uses 750 mAh against Olight's 130 mAh, so the Olight has a noticeably shorter service life.

Do Fenix flashlights use standard batteries?

It varies by model and you have to check. The C7 V2.0 uses a removable cell with USB-C charging, which means you can carry a spare. The E06R has a 750 mAh cell built in, so it cannot be re-celled at all. That is the same split Olight has, except that Olight's removable cells are Olight parts with the charging circuit inside them. If a standard replaceable cell is what you want, the budget brands we cover elsewhere serve that better than either of these.

Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?

It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.

Sources

Who writes this

Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.

More about this site · The method behind every ranking