Skip to content
Lumen & Ledger

EDC & Keychain

Best Budget EDC Flashlights

The light you carry beats the light you own. That single fact reorders the whole ranking, and it is why grams appear above lumens here.

By Scooter M. · Published September 2, 2026

Everyday carry items including a knife and wallet laid out flat

Short answer

Wurkkos TS10 V2

Thirty-two grams, three 90-CRI emitters, and one of the very few budget lights whose maker publishes the runtime at maximum output: one hour fourteen at 1,400 lumens. Publishing that number at all puts Wurkkos ahead of several brands ten times its size.

No
listing
image
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.

How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.

The only EDC rule that matters

An everyday carry light is only worth its specification if it is in your pocket, so rank on weight and shape first. Wurkkos publishes 32 grams for the TS10 V2 and Streamlight publishes 1.2 ounces for the MicroStream. Both of those disappear in a pocket. A 150-gram light with twice the output that you leave in a drawer produces exactly nothing.

This is not a soft observation, it is the whole reason the category exists. Everyone who has bought a flashlight has at some point owned an excellent one they stopped carrying because it was heavy, printed on their trouser leg, or dug into their hip when they sat down. The specification that predicts whether a light gets carried is mass and shape, and neither is on the front of the box.

#LightMax outputBatteryLumens / $Price
1
No
listing
image
Wurkkos TS10 V2

Best pocket light under two ounces

1,400ReplaceableNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

2
No
listing
image
Sofirn SC21 Pro

Best keychain light with a replaceable cell

1,100ReplaceableNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

3
No
listing
image
Streamlight MicroStream USB

Best pen-clip light with published runtimes

250SealedNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

4
No
listing
image
Olight i5R EOS

Best simple twist-free EDC

350ReplaceableNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

5
No
listing
image
Streamlight Wedge

The clearest published turbo duration anywhere

1,000SealedNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

6
No
listing
image
NEBO SLIM Mini 500

Best pocket task light for a toolbag

500SealedNeeds a live price
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by the price the light is selling for. Where we have not pulled a live price, the column says so instead of showing you a number we cannot stand behind. See how we work this out.

Published weights, side by side

Published weights and dimensions for everyday-carry candidates
LightPublished weightPublished lengthCell
Wurkkos TS10 V232 g without battery71.5 mm14500, replaceable
Streamlight MicroStream USB1.2 oz (34.1 g)3.87 in (9.83 cm)Sealed lithium-ion
NEBO SLIM Mini 5000.07 lbNot published450 mAh, built in
Streamlight Wedge3.3 oz (93.6 g)5.46 in (13.9 cm)Sealed lithium-ion
Olight i5R EOS2.2 oz95.4 mmProprietary 14500
Sofirn SC31 Pro59 g without battery117.5 mm18650, replaceable
Weights are as published; some exclude the battery and some do not, which is itself worth knowing when comparing.

Notice the qualifier in that last column. Wurkkos and Sofirn both publish weights without the battery, and an 18650 adds roughly 45 grams. That is not deceptive — it is standard practice, because the cell is sold separately — but it does mean a like-for-like comparison needs the cell weight added back.

Shape matters as much as mass

A flat light sits in a pocket differently from a round one. Streamlight's Wedge is 3.3 ounces, which is heavier than several lights here, and it carries better than lighter round lights because it lies flat instead of rolling into a lump. NEBO's SLIM Mini 500 is the same idea taken further.

The other shape question is the clip. A deep-carry clip that holds the light almost entirely inside the pocket is the difference between carrying something daily and putting it down. A shallow clip leaves an inch of light exposed, which snags and looks conspicuous.

No
listing
image

1. Best pocket light under two ounces

Wurkkos TS10 V2

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Thirty-two grams, three 90-CRI emitters, and one of the very few budget lights whose maker publishes the runtime at maximum output: one hour fourteen at 1,400 lumens. Publishing that number at all puts Wurkkos ahead of several brands ten times its size.

Max output
1,400 lm
Runtime
1 h 14 min
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
IPX8

What it gets right

  • Wurkkos publishes runtime at maximum output, which most brands quietly do not
  • Thirty-two grams — light enough that you stop noticing it in a pocket
  • Standard 14500 cell, replaceable
  • Documented automatic step-down instead of an undocumented one

What it gets wrong

  • A 14500 is a small cell; sustained output is not this light's job
  • RGB auxiliary LEDs are a toy, and they draw from the same cell
  • Anduril again, with the same learning curve

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 1,400 lumensWurkkos published specification
  • Runtime at maximum: 1 h 14 minWurkkos published specification
  • Runtime at 1 lumen: 6 h 43 minWurkkos published specification
  • Battery: 1 x 14500 Li-ion, user replaceableWurkkos published specification
  • Water rating: IPX8, 2 mWurkkos published specification
  • Weight: 32 g +/- 1 g without batteryWurkkos published specification
  • Length: 71.5 mmWurkkos published specification
  • Thermal behavior: Automatic step-down from turbo to highWurkkos published specification

Skip this one if

you need something to run for an hour on high without getting hot. A light this small has nowhere to put the heat, and the step-down is not optional.

Buy it if: the person who wants a real light on them at all times and will not carry anything heavier than a pen.

  • Output 8.0
  • Battery 8.0
  • Build 7.5
  • Usability 7.5
  • Overall 8.2
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

2. Best keychain light with a replaceable cell

Sofirn SC21 Pro

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Eleven hundred lumens from a keyring-sized body with a 16340 you can actually swap. Almost every rival at this size seals the battery in, which turns the light into a two-year consumable.

Max output
1,100 lm
Runtime
Not published per mode
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • A replaceable cell in a keychain-sized light, which is genuinely rare
  • Magnetic tail, so it doubles as a hands-free task light
  • USB-C in the light rather than a proprietary dock

What it gets wrong

  • Sofirn publishes neither runtime nor a water rating for this model
  • 1,100 lumens out of a 16340 is a very short-lived 1,100 lumens
  • Anduril on a light this small means a lot of clicking

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 1,100 lumensSofirn published specification
  • Beam distance: 131 mSofirn published specification
  • Battery: 1 x 16340 Li-ion, included and replaceableSofirn published specification
  • Charging: USB-C into the lightSofirn published specification
  • Fittings: Magnetic tailcap and pocket clipSofirn published specification
  • Water rating: Not published on the product page
  • Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page

Skip this one if

you want a published IP rating. Sofirn does not state one for this model, and we are not going to guess on your behalf.

Buy it if: someone who wants keychain size without accepting a disposable battery.

  • Output 7.5
  • Battery 8.5
  • Build 7.0
  • Usability 7.0
  • Overall 7.8
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

3. Best pen-clip light with published runtimes

Streamlight MicroStream USB

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Two hundred and fifty lumens for an hour and a half, fifty for three and a half, at 1.2 ounces. The battery is sealed, which caps its lifespan, but every other number on the sheet is published and checkable.

Max output
250 lm
Runtime
1 h 30 min
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
IPX4

What it gets right

  • Every mode's runtime is published, which is why it scores well here despite modest output
  • Deep pocket clip that actually holds in a shirt pocket
  • 1.2 ounces — it is easy to forget you have it

What it gets wrong

  • The cell is sealed in; when it fails the light is finished
  • IPX4 splash rating only
  • 250 lumens is not enough to light a yard

Published specification

  • High: 250 lumens, 68 m, 1.5 hoursStreamlight published specification
  • Low: 50 lumens, 31 m, 3.5 hoursStreamlight published specification
  • Battery: Lithium-ion, charges in-product in 4 hoursStreamlight published specification
  • Water rating: IPX4Streamlight published specification
  • Impact: 1 m testedStreamlight published specification
  • Weight: 1.2 oz (34.1 g)Streamlight published specification
  • Length: 3.87 in (9.83 cm)Streamlight published specification

Skip this one if

you want a light you can re-cell. For a keychain-sized light with a replaceable battery, look at the Sofirn SC21 Pro instead.

Buy it if: a shirt pocket, a scrubs pocket, or anyone who wants a light without a bulge.

  • Output 5.5
  • Battery 4.5
  • Build 8.5
  • Usability 9.0
  • Overall 7.2
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

4. Best simple twist-free EDC

Olight i5R EOS

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Three hundred and fifty lumens, 64 meters, and 37 hours at 15 lumens from a 1,420 mAh cell — the low-mode runtime is the number that makes this light useful. The cell is proprietary, which is the trade for how neatly the charging works.

Max output
350 lm
Runtime
37 h at 15 lm
Battery
Replaceable cell
Water rating
None published

What it gets right

  • Charging port is in the cell, so there is no port flap to fail
  • Thirty-seven hours at 15 lumens is a genuinely useful published figure
  • Tail switch with momentary-on

What it gets wrong

  • The 14500 is an Olight part, not a standard cell you can buy anywhere
  • No water rating on the product pages we could read
  • Three hundred and fifty lumens is modest for the price

Published specification

  • Maximum output: 350 lumensOlight published specification
  • Beam distance: 64 mOlight published specification
  • Output range: 15 to 350 lumensOlight published specification
  • Runtime: 37 hours at 15 lumensOlight published specification
  • Battery: Olight 1,420 mAh 14500 with integrated USB-COlight published specification
  • Weight: 2.2 ozOlight published specification
  • Length: 95.4 mmOlight published specification
  • Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read

Skip this one if

you want to standardize on one battery type across your lights. Olight's ecosystem is convenient right up to the point where you want a spare from a different shop.

Buy it if: someone who wants an EDC light that never needs thinking about, and does not mind buying replacement cells from one company.

  • Output 5.5
  • Battery 6.5
  • Build 8.5
  • Usability 9.0
  • Overall 7.4
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

5. The clearest published turbo duration anywhere

Streamlight Wedge

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

Three hundred lumens for three hours in normal use, and a boost mode Streamlight publishes as a 1,000-lumen, 35-second burst. Not a footnote, not buried in a manual — printed as the specification. Every brand knows their turbo behaves like this; this one says so.

Max output
1,000 lm
Runtime
35 seconds at 1,000 lm; 3 h at 300 lm
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
IPX7

What it gets right

  • The 35-second burst duration is published outright — an unusual piece of honesty
  • Flat, wedge-shaped body sits in a pocket without rolling
  • IPX7 in a light this thin

What it gets wrong

  • Sealed cell, so the light has a service life
  • Three hundred lumens constant is its real specification
  • Thumb-wheel switch is divisive and cannot be locked out mechanically

Published specification

  • Constant: 300 lumens, 69 m, 3 hoursStreamlight published specification
  • THRO boost: 1,000 lumens, 110 m, 35-second burstStreamlight published specification
  • Battery: Built-in lithium-ion, USB-CStreamlight published specification
  • Water rating: IPX7, 1 mStreamlight published specification
  • Impact: 1 m testedStreamlight published specification
  • Weight: 3.3 oz (93.6 g)Streamlight published specification

Skip this one if

you plan to use the 1,000-lumen mode as a mode. It is a burst by design and Streamlight tells you the duration in seconds.

Buy it if: someone who wants a flat pocket light and appreciates a manufacturer that publishes the uncomfortable number.

  • Output 6.5
  • Battery 4.5
  • Build 8.5
  • Usability 8.0
  • Overall 7.3
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

No
listing
image

6. Best pocket task light for a toolbag

NEBO SLIM Mini 500

Lumens per dollar

Computed the moment we have a live price for it

The most honest spec sheet in this whole roundup, and not in the way NEBO intended: turbo is 500 lumens for thirty seconds. High is 250 lumens for two hours. That thirty-second figure is printed by the manufacturer, and it is the clearest illustration of the whole turbo problem you will find.

Max output
500 lm
Runtime
30 seconds at turbo; 2 h at 250 lm high
Battery
Sealed
Water rating
IPX4

What it gets right

  • Genuinely flat — it disappears into a work-pants pocket
  • Magnetic base plus green and red modes for inspection work
  • NEBO states the turbo duration outright, which is rare and creditable

What it gets wrong

  • Turbo lasts half a minute; treat 250 lumens as the real specification
  • 450 mAh sealed cell, so this is a light with a service life rather than a lifespan
  • IPX4 is splash resistance and nothing more

Published specification

  • Turbo: 500 lumens for 30 seconds, 100 mNEBO published specification
  • High: 250 lumens, 2 hours, 250 mNEBO published specification
  • Low: 50 lumens, 5 hours, 50 mNEBO published specification
  • Battery: 450 mAh 3.7V (1.66 Wh) Li-ion, built inNEBO published specification
  • Recharge time: 2 hours, USB-CNEBO published specification
  • Water rating: IPX4NEBO published specification
  • Weight: 0.07 lbNEBO published specification

Skip this one if

you want a light for walking outdoors. This is a task light for arm's-length work and it does not throw usefully far in practice.

Buy it if: electricians, mechanics and anyone whose light spends its life eighteen inches from the thing it is lighting.

  • Output 6.0
  • Battery 4.5
  • Build 7.5
  • Usability 8.5
  • Overall 6.8
Check price on Amazon

We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn

How we ranked these

Published output over live price, battery architecture, build as evidenced by published ratings, and usability — with weight and shape folded into usability and weighted heavily. That is why a 250-lumen light finishes above a 2,000-lumen one on this page and nowhere else on the site.

Units we claim to have tested: 0

Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.

How we work this out · How picks get chosen and changed

How much output an EDC light actually needs

Two hundred to five hundred lumens covers essentially everything an everyday light is asked to do: finding a keyhole, reading a meter, looking under a desk, walking to a car, checking a noise in a garden. Beyond that you are carrying capability you will use a handful of times a year, and paying for it in grams every day.

The mode that matters most is the lowest one. A light with a usable sub-10-lumen setting is far more pleasant at night — it does not destroy your night vision or wake anyone up — and it runs for a very long time. Wurkkos publishes 6 hours 43 minutes at 1 lumen on the TS10.

Common questions

What is the best EDC flashlight for the money?

Among lights with published specifications, the Wurkkos TS10 V2 is the strongest value case: 1,400 lumens, 32 grams without its cell, a replaceable 14500 battery, IPX8, and a published runtime at maximum output of one hour fourteen minutes. That last figure is rare at any price and almost unheard of at this one.

How many lumens do I actually need?

For walking a dog, finding a fuse box or reading a map, 100 to 300 lumens is plenty and will run far longer. For a garage, a yard or a campsite, 500 to 1,000 lumens is comfortable. Above about 2,000 lumens you are buying a burst rather than a mode, because almost no handheld light can shed that much heat continuously.

How many lumens should an EDC flashlight have?

Two hundred to five hundred lumens covers almost every everyday task and keeps the light small enough to actually carry. What matters more is the lowest mode: a usable setting under 10 lumens is far more pleasant at night and runs for many hours, which is why Wurkkos publishing 6 hours 43 minutes at 1 lumen on the TS10 is a more useful number than its maximum.

Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?

It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.

Sources

Who writes this

Scooter M.I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.

More about this site · The method behind every ranking