EDC & Keychain
Best Pocket Flashlights
There is one specification that predicts whether a light gets carried every day, and it is not on the front of the box. It is the length in millimeters.
By Scooter M. · Published September 13, 2026

Short answer
Streamlight Wedge
Three hundred lumens for three hours in normal use, and a boost mode Streamlight publishes as a 1,000-lumen, 35-second burst. Not a footnote, not buried in a manual — printed as the specification. Every brand knows their turbo behaves like this; this one says so.

Price as of September 14, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn
Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.
How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.
The one number that predicts daily carry
Buy a pocket light on published length before anything else. Under about 75 millimeters a light disappears in a front pocket; over about 95 it starts competing with a phone and loses. Wurkkos publishes 71.5 mm and 32 g for the TS10 V2, Olight about 51 mm for the i1R 2 PRO, and Streamlight 98.3 mm for the MicroStream. Output is the fourth question here, not the first.
This site has separate rankings for budget pocket lights and for keychain lights, and they sort on price and on keyring size. This page ignores both and sorts on the manufacturers' own published dimensions, because the most common way to waste money on a flashlight is to buy an excellent one that turns out to be slightly too big and quietly migrates to a drawer within a month.
Published sizes, side by side
| Light | Published length | Published weight | Shape | Cell |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olight i1R 2 PRO | About 51 mm (2.02 in) | Not published | Keyring tube | Sealed 130 mAh |
| Wurkkos TS10 V2 | 71.5 mm | 32 g without cell | Tube | 14500, replaceable |
| NEBO SLIM Mini 500 | Not published | 0.07 lb | Flat | Sealed 450 mAh |
| Streamlight MicroStream | 98.3 mm (3.87 in) | 34.1 g (1.2 oz) | Pen tube | Sealed Li-ion |
| Streamlight Wedge | 139 mm (5.46 in) | 93.6 g (3.3 oz) | Flat | Sealed Li-ion |
| Sofirn SC21 Pro | Not published | Not published | Tube | 16340, replaceable |
Two things to read carefully in that table. First, several weights exclude the battery — a 14500 adds roughly 20 grams and an 18650 about 45, so a like-for-like comparison needs the cell added back. Second, three manufacturers publish no dimension at all for a product whose entire purpose is fitting somewhere, which is a strange gap and is marked against them in the ranking.
Shape beats mass, and the Wedge proves it
Streamlight's Wedge is the heaviest light on this page at 93.6 grams and it carries better than several lighter round ones, because it is flat. A flat light lies against your leg and disappears; a round light of the same volume rolls into a lump and prints through the fabric. NEBO's SLIM Mini 500 is the same idea at a much smaller size.
The trade is real and worth stating: flat bodies have less internal volume for a cell, so both flat lights here run sealed batteries, and both are consumables with a service life rather than lights you re-cell. If you want flat and replaceable, that product does not currently exist in this price range as far as we can find.
| # | Light | Max output | Battery | Lumens / $ | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Streamlight Wedge The clearest published turbo duration anywhere | 1,000 | Sealed | 10 | $96.30 on Amazon Price as of September 14, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 2 | ![]() Streamlight MicroStream USB Best pen-clip light with published runtimes | 250 | Sealed | 7 | $37.81 on Amazon Price as of September 14, 2026 — 7 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 3 | No listing image Wurkkos TS10 V2 Best pocket light under two ounces | 1,400 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 4 | No listing image Olight i1R 2 PRO Smallest light worth putting on a keyring | 180 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 5 | No listing image Sofirn SC21 Pro Best keychain light with a replaceable cell | 1,100 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 6 | No listing image NEBO SLIM Mini 500 Best pocket task light for a toolbag | 500 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
Prices pulled September 14, 2026. Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by that price, recomputed every time the price moves.
The clip is half the light and nobody publishes a spec for it
A deep-carry clip holds the light almost entirely inside the pocket with a few millimeters of tail showing. A shallow clip leaves an inch standing proud, which catches on seatbelts and door frames and looks like you are carrying equipment. That difference decides daily carry at least as often as length does.
No manufacturer publishes clip depth, retention force or whether the clip is reversible, so we cannot rank on it and are not going to invent a scale. Three things to check in your own hand: how far down the body the clip reaches, whether it can be reversed for bezel-up carry on a cap brim or bag strap, and whether it is friction-fit or screwed down. The screwed ones stay put; the friction ones migrate.

1. The clearest published turbo duration anywhere
Streamlight Wedge
Lumens per dollar
10
Three hundred lumens for three hours in normal use, and a boost mode Streamlight publishes as a 1,000-lumen, 35-second burst. Not a footnote, not buried in a manual — printed as the specification. Every brand knows their turbo behaves like this; this one says so.
- Max output
- 1,000 lm
- Runtime
- 35 seconds at 1,000 lm; 3 h at 300 lm
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- IPX7
What it gets right
- The 35-second burst duration is published outright — an unusual piece of honesty
- Flat, wedge-shaped body sits in a pocket without rolling
- IPX7 in a light this thin
What it gets wrong
- Sealed cell, so the light has a service life
- Three hundred lumens constant is its real specification
- Thumb-wheel switch is divisive and cannot be locked out mechanically
Published specification
- Constant: 300 lumens, 69 m, 3 hours — Streamlight published specification
- THRO boost: 1,000 lumens, 110 m, 35-second burst — Streamlight published specification
- Battery: Built-in lithium-ion, USB-C — Streamlight published specification
- Water rating: IPX7, 1 m — Streamlight published specification
- Impact: 1 m tested — Streamlight published specification
- Weight: 3.3 oz (93.6 g) — Streamlight published specification
Skip this one if
you plan to use the 1,000-lumen mode as a mode. It is a burst by design and Streamlight tells you the duration in seconds.
Buy it if: someone who wants a flat pocket light and appreciates a manufacturer that publishes the uncomfortable number.
- Output 6.5
- Battery 4.5
- Build 8.5
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 7.3
Price as of September 14, 2026 — 10 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

2. Best pen-clip light with published runtimes
Streamlight MicroStream USB
Lumens per dollar
7
Two hundred and fifty lumens for an hour and a half, fifty for three and a half, at 1.2 ounces. The battery is sealed, which caps its lifespan, but every other number on the sheet is published and checkable.
- Max output
- 250 lm
- Runtime
- 1 h 30 min
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- IPX4
What it gets right
- Every mode's runtime is published, which is why it scores well here despite modest output
- Deep pocket clip that actually holds in a shirt pocket
- 1.2 ounces — it is easy to forget you have it
What it gets wrong
- The cell is sealed in; when it fails the light is finished
- IPX4 splash rating only
- 250 lumens is not enough to light a yard
Published specification
- High: 250 lumens, 68 m, 1.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Low: 50 lumens, 31 m, 3.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Battery: Lithium-ion, charges in-product in 4 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Water rating: IPX4 — Streamlight published specification
- Impact: 1 m tested — Streamlight published specification
- Weight: 1.2 oz (34.1 g) — Streamlight published specification
- Length: 3.87 in (9.83 cm) — Streamlight published specification
Skip this one if
you want a light you can re-cell. For a keychain-sized light with a replaceable battery, look at the Sofirn SC21 Pro instead.
Buy it if: a shirt pocket, a scrubs pocket, or anyone who wants a light without a bulge.
- Output 5.5
- Battery 4.5
- Build 8.5
- Usability 9.0
- Overall 7.2
Price as of September 14, 2026 — 7 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn
listing
image
3. Best pocket light under two ounces
Wurkkos TS10 V2
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Thirty-two grams, three 90-CRI emitters, and one of the very few budget lights whose maker publishes the runtime at maximum output: one hour fourteen at 1,400 lumens. Publishing that number at all puts Wurkkos ahead of several brands ten times its size.
- Max output
- 1,400 lm
- Runtime
- 1 h 14 min
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IPX8
What it gets right
- Wurkkos publishes runtime at maximum output, which most brands quietly do not
- Thirty-two grams — light enough that you stop noticing it in a pocket
- Standard 14500 cell, replaceable
- Documented automatic step-down instead of an undocumented one
What it gets wrong
- A 14500 is a small cell; sustained output is not this light's job
- RGB auxiliary LEDs are a toy, and they draw from the same cell
- Anduril again, with the same learning curve
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,400 lumens — Wurkkos published specification
- Runtime at maximum: 1 h 14 min — Wurkkos published specification
- Runtime at 1 lumen: 6 h 43 min — Wurkkos published specification
- Battery: 1 x 14500 Li-ion, user replaceable — Wurkkos published specification
- Water rating: IPX8, 2 m — Wurkkos published specification
- Weight: 32 g +/- 1 g without battery — Wurkkos published specification
- Length: 71.5 mm — Wurkkos published specification
- Thermal behavior: Automatic step-down from turbo to high — Wurkkos published specification
Skip this one if
you need something to run for an hour on high without getting hot. A light this small has nowhere to put the heat, and the step-down is not optional.
Buy it if: the person who wants a real light on them at all times and will not carry anything heavier than a pen.
- Output 8.0
- Battery 8.0
- Build 7.5
- Usability 7.5
- Overall 8.2
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
4. Smallest light worth putting on a keyring
Olight i1R 2 PRO
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
One hundred and eighty lumens and 48 meters from something the size of a AAA cell, with 12 hours of published runtime on low. The 130 mAh battery is sealed in, so treat it as a two-year item bought at a two-year price.
- Max output
- 180 lm
- Runtime
- Up to 12 h
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Small enough that it genuinely stays on the keyring
- Twist-head operation with no switch to press in a pocket
- USB-C without disassembling the light
What it gets wrong
- One hundred and thirty milliamp-hours sealed in — this is a consumable
- Twist interface means you cannot operate it one-handed while holding something
- No published water rating
Published specification
- Maximum output: 180 lumens — Olight published specification
- Beam distance: 48 m — Olight published specification
- Low mode: 5 lumens — Olight published specification
- Runtime: Up to 12 hours — Olight published specification
- Battery: Built-in 130 mAh lithium-ion — Olight published specification
- Charging: USB-C, full charge in 100 minutes — Olight published specification
- Length: 2.02 in — Olight published specification
- Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read
Skip this one if
you expect a keyring light to last a decade. It will not, and at 130 mAh nothing this size will.
Buy it if: the keyring, where the alternative is having no light at all.
- Output 4.0
- Battery 3.5
- Build 8.0
- Usability 8.5
- Overall 6.4
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
5. Best keychain light with a replaceable cell
Sofirn SC21 Pro
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Eleven hundred lumens from a keyring-sized body with a 16340 you can actually swap. Almost every rival at this size seals the battery in, which turns the light into a two-year consumable.
- Max output
- 1,100 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- A replaceable cell in a keychain-sized light, which is genuinely rare
- Magnetic tail, so it doubles as a hands-free task light
- USB-C in the light rather than a proprietary dock
What it gets wrong
- Sofirn publishes neither runtime nor a water rating for this model
- 1,100 lumens out of a 16340 is a very short-lived 1,100 lumens
- Anduril on a light this small means a lot of clicking
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,100 lumens — Sofirn published specification
- Beam distance: 131 m — Sofirn published specification
- Battery: 1 x 16340 Li-ion, included and replaceable — Sofirn published specification
- Charging: USB-C into the light — Sofirn published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tailcap and pocket clip — Sofirn published specification
- Water rating: Not published on the product page
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page
Skip this one if
you want a published IP rating. Sofirn does not state one for this model, and we are not going to guess on your behalf.
Buy it if: someone who wants keychain size without accepting a disposable battery.
- Output 7.5
- Battery 8.5
- Build 7.0
- Usability 7.0
- Overall 7.8
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
6. Best pocket task light for a toolbag
NEBO SLIM Mini 500
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
The most honest spec sheet in this whole roundup, and not in the way NEBO intended: turbo is 500 lumens for thirty seconds. High is 250 lumens for two hours. That thirty-second figure is printed by the manufacturer, and it is the clearest illustration of the whole turbo problem you will find.
- Max output
- 500 lm
- Runtime
- 30 seconds at turbo; 2 h at 250 lm high
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- IPX4
What it gets right
- Genuinely flat — it disappears into a work-pants pocket
- Magnetic base plus green and red modes for inspection work
- NEBO states the turbo duration outright, which is rare and creditable
What it gets wrong
- Turbo lasts half a minute; treat 250 lumens as the real specification
- 450 mAh sealed cell, so this is a light with a service life rather than a lifespan
- IPX4 is splash resistance and nothing more
Published specification
- Turbo: 500 lumens for 30 seconds, 100 m — NEBO published specification
- High: 250 lumens, 2 hours, 250 m — NEBO published specification
- Low: 50 lumens, 5 hours, 50 m — NEBO published specification
- Battery: 450 mAh 3.7V (1.66 Wh) Li-ion, built in — NEBO published specification
- Recharge time: 2 hours, USB-C — NEBO published specification
- Water rating: IPX4 — NEBO published specification
- Weight: 0.07 lb — NEBO published specification
Skip this one if
you want a light for walking outdoors. This is a task light for arm's-length work and it does not throw usefully far in practice.
Buy it if: electricians, mechanics and anyone whose light spends its life eighteen inches from the thing it is lighting.
- Output 6.0
- Battery 4.5
- Build 7.5
- Usability 8.5
- Overall 6.8
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
Where the light is actually going to live
Pocket flashlight is four different products depending on which pocket you mean, and the size bands are genuinely different. Deciding this before you shop removes most of the risk of buying the wrong one.
- Front trouser pocket, alongside a phone and keys. Under about 75 mm and under about 60 g with the cell. This is the hardest constraint and the one the TS10 V2 is built for at 71.5 mm.
- Fifth pocket or coin pocket. Under about 55 mm. Effectively only keyring-class lights fit, which is where the i1R 2 PRO lives at about 51 mm.
- Shirt or jacket pocket. Up to about 100 mm works because the pocket hangs rather than wraps. A pen-shaped light like the MicroStream at 98.3 mm is designed for exactly this.
- Bag, tool roll or glovebox. Size stops mattering and everything else starts. If this is your answer, stop reading this page and buy on output and runtime instead.
The band that catches people out is the third one. A light bought for a jacket pocket in winter becomes a light with nowhere to go in June, which is how a perfectly good purchase ends up in a drawer by summer. If you want one light for the whole year, size it for the front trouser pocket.
Two details that decide daily use and appear on no spec sheet
Whether it tail-stands. A light with a flat tail stands on end and bounces light off a ceiling, which turns a flashlight into a room light — genuinely useful in a tent, under a sink or during an outage. A protruding tail switch or a magnetic dome prevents it. Neither is better in the abstract; a magnetic tail sticks to a car hood and a flat tail lights a room, and you can only have one.
And whether the bezel is smooth or crenelated. A scalloped bezel lets you see the light is on when it is face-down on a table, which is a small safety feature given how hot these get. It also snags on pocket linings and looks aggressive, which some buyers actively want and others actively do not. Our page on why LED flashlights get hot explains why a light left face-down on a soft surface is worth avoiding.
How small is too small
There is a floor, and the Olight i1R 2 PRO sits on it deliberately. Olight publishes a built-in 130 mAh cell, 180 lumens and up to 12 hours on its 5-lumen low. One hundred and thirty milliamp-hours is a very small energy store, and that is the price of a light you genuinely never notice on a keyring.
So the honest framing is that the smallest lights are not worse lights, they are a different purchase: a light that is always present and briefly useful, rather than one that does a job for an hour. If that is what you want, buy it and enjoy it — our keychain ranking covers that end properly. Just do not expect it to light a yard.
What a pocket light does not need to be
Two features get sold hard at this size and neither earns its place for most buyers. Strobe modes, which are close to useless outside a specific tactical argument this site does not make, and which are actively harmful when they sit between you and the low mode in a cycle. And extreme turbo figures, which a cell this small cannot sustain for more than a burst, and which frequently cost you a genuinely useful mid mode to make room for.
What a pocket light does need is a low mode you can reach in one action, a clip that holds, and a body short enough to forget about. Those three decide daily use, and none of them is the number on the front of the package. Our page on inflated lumen claims explains why the biggest figure on the smallest light is the least reliable one you will read.
The cell question, which cuts differently at this size
Everywhere else on this site a replaceable cell is weighted hardest, because a sealed light is a consumable with a service life. That still applies here: the Wurkkos TS10 V2 takes a standard 14500 and the Sofirn SC21 Pro a 16340, and both can be revived for a few dollars when the cell tires, while four of the six lights here cannot.
But the argument is weaker at this size than at any other, and pretending otherwise would be dishonest. Small cells are what allow small lights; the i1R 2 PRO could not be 51 millimeters long with a user-serviceable battery tube. If the size is the reason you are buying, the sealed cell is part of what you are buying. Our page on whether rechargeable flashlights are worth it works the ownership arithmetic through properly.
There is a simple test for whether a light is the right size for you, and it costs nothing. Put it in the pocket you intend to carry it in, then sit down in a car seat. Most lights that fail at daily carry fail at exactly that moment, and it is a check no specification table can do for you.
The low mode matters more than the high one
A pocket light is mostly used indoors and at close range — a keyhole, a label, a cable behind a desk, a dark hallway without waking anyone. Those jobs want ten lumens, not a thousand, and a light with a usable sub-10-lumen setting is one you will reach for far more often.
The published figures back that up. Wurkkos publishes six hours forty-three minutes at one lumen on the TS10 V2; Olight publishes up to twelve hours on the i1R 2 PRO's 5-lumen mode; Streamlight publishes 50 lumens for three and a half hours on the MicroStream. Those are the numbers that describe how the light behaves for most of its life, and our guide to how many lumens you actually need has a table by task.
How we ranked these
The four scored attributes published on our methodology page — output against live price, battery architecture, build as evidenced by published ratings, and usability — with one override stated for this page: published size is promoted to the top, and a manufacturer that publishes no dimension at all is marked down for it. A pocket light that will not tell you how long it is has not answered the only question this page asks.
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.
What we cannot tell you
We have not carried any of these. We cannot tell you how the clips hold up after a year of sitting down and standing up, how the tints compare side by side, how the switches feel after ten thousand presses, or whether a given body finish wears through where it rubs a pocket seam. Those are the things pocket lights are actually judged on in daily use, and none of them appears on any specification sheet. What we can do is put the published dimensions in one table so you can hold a ruler against them before you buy.
Common questions
What is the best pocket flashlight?
On published size with a replaceable cell, the Wurkkos TS10 V2 — Wurkkos publishes 71.5 mm and 32 grams without the battery, plus IPX8 and a printed runtime of one hour fourteen minutes at its 1,400-lumen maximum. If you want the smallest possible light and will accept a sealed battery, Olight publishes about 51 mm for the i1R 2 PRO. If you want something that lies flat rather than rolling, Streamlight's Wedge carries better than its 93.6 grams suggests.
How small should an everyday carry flashlight be?
Under about 75 millimeters long it disappears in a front pocket and you will carry it without thinking. Between 75 and 95 it is noticeable but manageable, especially in a jacket or bag. Above about 95 millimeters it competes with a phone for the same pocket and usually loses. Weight matters less than length at this size, which is the opposite of the rule for headlamps.
Are flat flashlights better than round ones for pockets?
For carrying, generally yes — a flat light lies against your leg while a round one of the same volume rolls into a lump and prints through the fabric. Streamlight's Wedge is the heaviest light in this ranking and still carries well for exactly that reason. The trade is internal volume: both flat lights we cover use sealed batteries, so you gain carryability and give up the ability to re-cell the light.
Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?
It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.
Sources
- Wurkkos published product specifications and user manuals — read 2026-09-01
- Olight published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Sofirn published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Streamlight published product specifications — per-mode lumens, runtime, beam distance, impact and IP ratings, read 2026-09-01
- NEBO published product specifications — mode-by-mode lumen, runtime and beam figures, read 2026-09-01
- Lumen & Ledger method — how every figure on this page is derived
Who writes this
Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.
Read next
Best budget EDC flashlights
The light you carry beats the light you own. Ranked on carryability first.
Best rechargeable keychain flashlights
Tiny cells, short lives, and the one keychain light with a replaceable battery.
Best EDC flashlights under $30
Thirty dollars is where the replaceable cell survives and the published runtime does not.
Best EDC flashlights under $50
Fifty dollars is the sweet spot for pocket lights. Here is why.
How many lumens do you actually need?
A table by use case. Most people need far fewer than the box is selling them.
The Ledger
Every light we cover in one ranked table, sorted by lumens per dollar.