EDC & Keychain
Best EDC Gifts
The light we recommend most often is a bad present. Working out why is the whole exercise, and it changes which five lights end up here.
By Scooter M. · Published September 27, 2026

Short answer
NITECORE MT2A Pro
A thousand lumens and 255 meters out of a penlight body that runs on its own removable 14500 or on two AA cells from any shop on earth. IP68 on top. It is the rare light that answers the shelf-life problem and the output problem in the same package.

Price as of September 27, 2026 — 22 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn
Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.
How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.
The short answer
Buy a light with one button, a charging cable in the box, and nothing for the recipient to learn or buy. The Fenix E06R is the strongest all-round gift — 700 lumens from a keyring-sized body with a magnetic tail — and the Olight i5R EOS is the nicest object of the five, charging through a port built into the cell so there is no flap to fumble. Avoid anything running Anduril firmware, however good it is, because a light with a menu system is a present that comes with homework.
Every other ranking on this site answers the same question: which light gives the most published output per dollar. That question is the wrong one here, and it is worth being explicit about why rather than quietly reordering the same list.
A gift has a requirement no spec sheet records. It has to work in the ninety seconds after it is unwrapped, in front of the person who gave it, without a manual. A light that fails that test has failed regardless of what it publishes, and a light that passes can be objectively worse on paper and still be the right present.
The criteria, before any pick
- 1.One button, or no button. If the interface needs explaining, it is the wrong gift. A single switch with two or three levels is ideal; a ramping menu is not.
- 2.Nothing else to buy. The cable should be in the box and the cell should be in the light. A gift that requires a trip for batteries or a separate charger is an errand with a bow on it.
- 3.Small enough to be kept. A light that goes in a drawer produces no light and no goodwill. Keyring or shirt-pocket size means it actually gets carried.
- 4.At least one published figure. This is the site's floor: a manufacturer that prints a runtime or an ingress rating is telling you something about the rest of the product. It keeps the junk out.
- 5.Universally useful. A spotlight, a work panel or a specialist headlamp is a great present for one person and a puzzling one for anyone else.
- 6.Presentable. Not a scored attribute we can measure, and we are naming it anyway, because packaging is part of what a gift is and the brands here differ a lot on it.
The light we recommend most often is a bad gift
Take the Sofirn SC31 Pro: 2,000 published lumens, IPX8 and a replaceable 18650, at a price nothing else we cover matches. It is genuinely the light we would tell most people to buy for themselves.
It is a poor present, and so are the Wurkkos lights we rate almost as highly. All of them ship Anduril, an open-source firmware with ramping, a mode-group system and a shortcut for nearly everything. Enthusiasts love it, and that is the point — it is firmware written for people who enjoy flashlights. Somebody who just wanted a torch will click at it, get a strobe they cannot escape, and put it down.
So the criteria above deliberately exclude several lights we rate highly elsewhere. That is not a criticism of those lights. It is what happens when you change the question from which light is best to which light survives being unwrapped by somebody who does not care about flashlights.
What each one publishes, and how it behaves out of the box
| Light | Maximum output | Interface | Cell | Published rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fenix E06R | 700 lumens | Single side switch, lockout | Built-in 750 mAh, USB-C | No water rating stated |
| Olight i5R EOS | 350 lumens | Tail switch, momentary-on | Olight 14500, in-cell USB-C | No water rating stated |
| Streamlight MicroStream | 250 lumens | Single tail switch | Sealed Li-ion, USB | IPX4, 1 m impact |
| NITECORE MT2A Pro | 1,000 lumens | Single tail switch, 3 levels | 2 x AA or 14500 | IP68, 1 m impact |
| Olight i1R 2 PRO | 180 lumens | Twist head, no switch | Built-in 130 mAh, USB-C | No water rating stated |
Notice that the two lights with the best published ratings are the Streamlight and the NITECORE, and the two that are nicest to receive are the Olights. That tension is the honest shape of this page, and it is the reverse of how we rank everywhere else.
| # | Light | Max output | Battery | Lumens / $ | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() NITECORE MT2A Pro Best dual-power pocket light | 1,000 | Replaceable | 22 | $44.95 on Amazon Price as of September 27, 2026 — 22 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 2 | ![]() Fenix E06R Most output from a keychain body | 700 | Sealed | 13 | $55.95 on Amazon Price as of September 27, 2026 — 13 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 3 | ![]() Streamlight MicroStream USB Best pen-clip light with published runtimes | 250 | Sealed | 7 | $37.81 on Amazon Price as of September 27, 2026 — 7 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn |
| 4 | No listing image Olight i5R EOS Best simple twist-free EDC | 350 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 5 | No listing image Olight i1R 2 PRO Smallest light worth putting on a keyring | 180 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
Prices pulled September 27, 2026. Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by that price, recomputed every time the price moves.

1. Best dual-power pocket light
NITECORE MT2A Pro
Lumens per dollar
22
A thousand lumens and 255 meters out of a penlight body that runs on its own removable 14500 or on two AA cells from any shop on earth. IP68 on top. It is the rare light that answers the shelf-life problem and the output problem in the same package.
- Max output
- 1,000 lm
- Runtime
- 20 h
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IP68
What it gets right
- Dual power: a removable 14500 for output, or two AA cells when there is no charger
- IP68 to two meters, which almost nothing at this size publishes
- Two hundred and fifty-five meters of throw from a penlight-shaped body
- The charging port is in the cell, so a spare cell charges while the light is in use
What it gets wrong
- NITECORE publishes only the maximum runtime, not a figure per mode
- On alkaline AA cells the output is far below the 1,000-lumen headline
- A penlight body is long for its diameter and rolls off a sloped surface
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,000 lumens — NITECORE published specification
- Peak beam intensity: 16,500 cd — NITECORE published specification
- Beam distance: 255 m — NITECORE published specification
- Battery: 2 x AA, or 1 x NL1416R 14500 Li-ion with USB-C charging in the cell — NITECORE published specification
- Water rating: IP68, submersible to 2 m — NITECORE published specification
- Impact: 1 m — NITECORE published specification
- Weight: 40 g (1.41 oz) without battery — NITECORE published specification
- Length: 142.8 mm — NITECORE published specification
- Modes: Three brightness levels, single tail switch — NITECORE published specification
- Maximum runtime: 20 hours at 50 lumens — NITECORE published specification
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page
Skip this one if
you want the smallest possible pocket light. At 142.8 mm this is a long, thin light rather than a short one, and that shape suits a shirt pocket better than a jeans pocket.
Buy it if: anyone who wants one light for both daily use and the drawer, and refuses to be stopped by a flat cell.
- Output 8.0
- Battery 9.5
- Build 9.0
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 8.6
Price as of September 27, 2026 — 22 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

2. Most output from a keychain body
Fenix E06R
Lumens per dollar
13
Seven hundred lumens and 110 meters from a light that hangs off a keyring, with a 750 mAh built-in cell and a magnetic tail. It costs more than the budget keychain options and it puts out several times their light.
- Max output
- 700 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode on the retail page
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Seven hundred lumens from a keyring light is a genuine step up
- Magnetic tail turns it into a hands-free task light
- Lockout function, so it does not cook in a pocket
What it gets wrong
- Sealed 750 mAh cell
- The UV mode and laser pointer are features looking for a use
- No per-mode runtime on the retail page
Published specification
- Maximum output: 700 lumens — Fenix published specification
- Beam distance: 361 ft (110 m) — Fenix published specification
- Battery: Built-in 750 mAh — Fenix published specification
- Modes: Ten, including UV and a red laser pointer — Fenix published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tail, key ring loop, lockout — Fenix published specification
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the retail page we read
Skip this one if
you want a keychain light with a replaceable cell — that is the Sofirn SC21 Pro's job here.
Buy it if: someone who wants their smallest light to still be a real light.
- Output 7.0
- Battery 4.0
- Build 8.5
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 7.1
Price as of September 27, 2026 — 13 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn

3. Best pen-clip light with published runtimes
Streamlight MicroStream USB
Lumens per dollar
7
Two hundred and fifty lumens for an hour and a half, fifty for three and a half, at 1.2 ounces. The battery is sealed, which caps its lifespan, but every other number on the sheet is published and checkable.
- Max output
- 250 lm
- Runtime
- 1 h 30 min
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- IPX4
What it gets right
- Every mode's runtime is published, which is why it scores well here despite modest output
- Deep pocket clip that actually holds in a shirt pocket
- 1.2 ounces — it is easy to forget you have it
What it gets wrong
- The cell is sealed in; when it fails the light is finished
- IPX4 splash rating only
- 250 lumens is not enough to light a yard
Published specification
- High: 250 lumens, 68 m, 1.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Low: 50 lumens, 31 m, 3.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Battery: Lithium-ion, charges in-product in 4 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Water rating: IPX4 — Streamlight published specification
- Impact: 1 m tested — Streamlight published specification
- Weight: 1.2 oz (34.1 g) — Streamlight published specification
- Length: 3.87 in (9.83 cm) — Streamlight published specification
Skip this one if
you want a light you can re-cell. For a keychain-sized light with a replaceable battery, look at the Sofirn SC21 Pro instead.
Buy it if: a shirt pocket, a scrubs pocket, or anyone who wants a light without a bulge.
- Output 5.5
- Battery 4.5
- Build 8.5
- Usability 9.0
- Overall 7.2
Price as of September 27, 2026 — 7 lumens per dollar. #ad How we earn
listing
image
4. Best simple twist-free EDC
Olight i5R EOS
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Three hundred and fifty lumens, 64 meters, and 37 hours at 15 lumens from a 1,420 mAh cell — the low-mode runtime is the number that makes this light useful. The cell is proprietary, which is the trade for how neatly the charging works.
- Max output
- 350 lm
- Runtime
- 37 h at 15 lm
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Charging port is in the cell, so there is no port flap to fail
- Thirty-seven hours at 15 lumens is a genuinely useful published figure
- Tail switch with momentary-on
What it gets wrong
- The 14500 is an Olight part, not a standard cell you can buy anywhere
- No water rating on the product pages we could read
- Three hundred and fifty lumens is modest for the price
Published specification
- Maximum output: 350 lumens — Olight published specification
- Beam distance: 64 m — Olight published specification
- Output range: 15 to 350 lumens — Olight published specification
- Runtime: 37 hours at 15 lumens — Olight published specification
- Battery: Olight 1,420 mAh 14500 with integrated USB-C — Olight published specification
- Weight: 2.2 oz — Olight published specification
- Length: 95.4 mm — Olight published specification
- Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read
Skip this one if
you want to standardize on one battery type across your lights. Olight's ecosystem is convenient right up to the point where you want a spare from a different shop.
Buy it if: someone who wants an EDC light that never needs thinking about, and does not mind buying replacement cells from one company.
- Output 5.5
- Battery 6.5
- Build 8.5
- Usability 9.0
- Overall 7.4
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
5. Smallest light worth putting on a keyring
Olight i1R 2 PRO
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
One hundred and eighty lumens and 48 meters from something the size of a AAA cell, with 12 hours of published runtime on low. The 130 mAh battery is sealed in, so treat it as a two-year item bought at a two-year price.
- Max output
- 180 lm
- Runtime
- Up to 12 h
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Small enough that it genuinely stays on the keyring
- Twist-head operation with no switch to press in a pocket
- USB-C without disassembling the light
What it gets wrong
- One hundred and thirty milliamp-hours sealed in — this is a consumable
- Twist interface means you cannot operate it one-handed while holding something
- No published water rating
Published specification
- Maximum output: 180 lumens — Olight published specification
- Beam distance: 48 m — Olight published specification
- Low mode: 5 lumens — Olight published specification
- Runtime: Up to 12 hours — Olight published specification
- Battery: Built-in 130 mAh lithium-ion — Olight published specification
- Charging: USB-C, full charge in 100 minutes — Olight published specification
- Length: 2.02 in — Olight published specification
- Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read
Skip this one if
you expect a keyring light to last a decade. It will not, and at 130 mAh nothing this size will.
Buy it if: the keyring, where the alternative is having no light at all.
- Output 4.0
- Battery 3.5
- Build 8.0
- Usability 8.5
- Overall 6.4
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
Olight is the most giftable brand, and we have been hard on it elsewhere
We compare Olight against three other brands on this site and it comes off second on documentation every time: neither model here publishes a water rating, and neither publishes a runtime for more than one mode. Those are real criticisms and we stand by them.
On this page Olight wins things it cannot win anywhere else. The i5R EOS's charging port is inside the cell rather than behind a rubber flap in the body, which removes the fiddliest part of owning a cheap rechargeable and the part most likely to confuse somebody unfamiliar with them. The i1R 2 PRO twists on, so there is no button to press, nothing to learn, and nothing to switch on accidentally in a bag. And both arrive in packaging that looks like a present rather than like a tool.
That is a fair result rather than an inconsistency. A brand can spend its budget on the experience of ownership instead of on the spec sheet, and for a gift the experience is the product.
Matching the light to the person
- Someone who loses things: Olight i1R 2 PRO on their keys. It is small enough to stay there and cheap enough that losing it is not a disaster.
- Someone practical who owns tools: NITECORE MT2A Pro. One switch, three levels, IP68, and it runs on AA cells from any shop — the most useful light here by a distance.
- Someone who will carry it in a shirt pocket every day: Streamlight MicroStream at 1.2 ounces, with every mode's runtime published.
- Someone you want to impress: Olight i5R EOS. It is the nicest object of the five to hold and to charge.
- Someone who will actually use the brightness: Fenix E06R at 700 lumens, which is four times what the keychain rivals here manage.
- Someone who already owns flashlights and enjoys them: none of these. Buy them a Sofirn SC31 Pro from our main ranking and let them enjoy the firmware.
What to skip
- Anything advertising hundreds of thousands or millions of lumens. Those figures are invented, the products are junk, and the spotlight category is the worst offender.
- Anduril-firmware lights, unless you know the recipient wants one. The best value on this site sits behind a learning curve.
- Lights needing disposable cells the recipient does not already own. A CR123A light is a lovely present and an expensive surprise.
- Novelty multi-tool bundles. The light in them is almost always the worst light in the box.
- Aggressive tactical styling, unless you are certain. A strike bezel is a specific taste and not a neutral default.
- A spotlight or a work panel as a general gift. Both are excellent and both are answers to a question most people have not asked.
A gift has a price problem a spec sheet cannot solve
Flashlights are unusual among gifts in that the recipient almost certainly does not know what they cost. That cuts both ways, and it is worth being deliberate about rather than hoping for the best.
A well-made keychain light can look like a trinket and a cheap one can look substantial, because the visible cues — anodizing, weight, packaging — do not track price closely at this end of the market. The practical consequence is that spending more does not reliably make a gift feel more generous, and the lights here that feel like the most thought went into them are not the most expensive ones.
Our suggestion, such as it is: pick the light whose shape fits the person rather than the one with the highest figure, and let the fact that it gets used every day do the work. A 250-lumen light carried daily for three years is a better present than a 1,000-lumen one in a drawer, and no specification on this page will tell you which is which.
How we ranked these
Published output over the live price still sets a floor, but the weighting here is deliberately different from every other page on the site: interface simplicity, completeness in the box and carry size count for more than lumens, and a published rating is treated as a pass or fail rather than as a score. A light with a menu system cannot rank on this page whatever it publishes, which is why the Anduril lights we rate highly elsewhere are absent.
If you barely know the person
The safest default of the five is the Streamlight MicroStream, and the reason is that it has the fewest ways to be wrong. One button, 1.2 ounces, a deep pocket clip, every mode's runtime published, and nothing about it that assumes anything about the recipient's interests or tastes.
What it gives up is the chance of delighting anyone — it is a competent, unremarkable object, and nobody has ever been thrilled by 250 lumens. If you know the person well enough to take a position, the Fenix E06R's output or the Olight i5R EOS's charging will land better. If you do not, a light that is quietly useful for years beats a light that makes a stronger first impression and then annoys them.
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.
What we cannot tell you
We have not used any of these lights and we have not unwrapped any of them, so the packaging judgment above is the softest thing on this page — it is an impression from what the manufacturers show, not a verified claim, and we have labeled it as unmeasured rather than scoring it. We also cannot tell you how any of these interfaces feels to a complete beginner, which is the criterion the whole page turns on, or how long the sealed cells in three of the five will last before they need replacing and cannot be.
Common questions
What makes a flashlight a good gift?
One button, everything in the box, and small enough to be kept. The interface matters more than the output: a light with a ramping menu or mode groups will be put down by anyone who did not want a hobby, however well it performs. Check that the charging cable is included and that the recipient does not need to buy cells separately, and prefer a brand that publishes at least a runtime or an ingress rating, which keeps the junk out.
Are expensive flashlights better gifts?
Not reliably. Past about fifty dollars you are mostly buying documentation, sealing and service life — real things that a recipient who does not care about flashlights will never notice. The qualities that make a good present are interface simplicity, size and presentation, and those top out well below the premium tier. Spending more on a specialist light usually makes it a worse gift, not a better one.
Why should I avoid Anduril flashlights as gifts?
Because Anduril is firmware written for enthusiasts. It gives you ramping, mode groups and shortcuts, which is exactly what somebody who enjoys flashlights wants and exactly what somebody who wanted a torch does not. The practical failure is specific: a first-time user clicking around usually finds a strobe or a lockout they cannot get out of, decides the light is broken, and stops using it. Several of the best-value lights we cover ship it, which is why they are absent from this page.
How many lumens do I actually need?
For walking a dog, finding a fuse box or reading a map, 100 to 300 lumens is plenty and will run far longer. For a garage, a yard or a campsite, 500 to 1,000 lumens is comfortable. Above about 2,000 lumens you are buying a burst rather than a mode, because almost no handheld light can shed that much heat continuously.
Sources
- Fenix published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Olight published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Streamlight published product specifications — per-mode lumens, runtime, beam distance, impact and IP ratings, read 2026-09-01; Waypoint 400 and Waypoint C-cell read 2026-09-22
- NITECORE published product specifications — NU25 MCT UL read 2026-09-01; MT2A Pro read 2026-09-13
- Lumen & Ledger method — how every figure on this page is derived
Who writes this
Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.
Read next
Best pocket flashlights
Ranked on published millimeters and grams, because length is what decides if it gets carried.
Best rechargeable keychain flashlights
Tiny cells, short lives, and the one keychain light with a replaceable battery.
Best budget EDC flashlights
The light you carry beats the light you own. Ranked on carryability first.
Olight alternatives
Five lights that skip the proprietary cell and the direct-only stock.
Are expensive flashlights worth it?
What the money above eighty dollars actually buys, and the three buyers it is genuinely worth it for.
The Ledger
Every light we cover in one ranked table, sorted by lumens per dollar.