EDC & Keychain
Best EDC Flashlights Under $50
Fifty dollars is where a pocket light can have a replaceable cell, a published water rating and USB-C, and still weigh less than a set of keys.
By Scooter M. · Published September 2, 2026

Short answer
Wurkkos TS10 V2
Thirty-two grams, three 90-CRI emitters, and one of the very few budget lights whose maker publishes the runtime at maximum output: one hour fourteen at 1,400 lumens. Publishing that number at all puts Wurkkos ahead of several brands ten times its size.
listing
image
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.
How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.
The four-point checklist
Under fifty dollars a pocket light should have all four of: a replaceable cell, a published IP rating, USB-C charging, and a weight under about 60 grams. The Wurkkos TS10 V2 has all four — 32 grams, a 14500, IPX8, USB-C. Any light missing one of them at this price is asking full money for a partial specification.
It is worth saying why fifty dollars is the interesting number rather than thirty or a hundred. Below thirty, the replaceable cell starts disappearing from pocket-sized lights because the tail mechanism costs money. Above about eighty, you are paying for warranty, machining quality and brand rather than for anything on the list.
| # | Light | Max output | Battery | Lumens / $ | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No listing image Wurkkos TS10 V2 Best pocket light under two ounces | 1,400 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 2 | No listing image Sofirn SC21 Pro Best keychain light with a replaceable cell | 1,100 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 3 | No listing image Olight i5R EOS Best simple twist-free EDC | 350 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 4 | No listing image Streamlight MicroStream USB Best pen-clip light with published runtimes | 250 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 5 | No listing image Fenix E06R Most output from a keychain body | 700 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by the price the light is selling for. Where we have not pulled a live price, the column says so instead of showing you a number we cannot stand behind. See how we work this out.
Where fifty dollars beats a hundred
In this size class, the expensive lights are not meaningfully brighter. Fenix publishes 700 lumens for the E06R; Wurkkos publishes 1,400 for the TS10 at a fraction of the price. What the extra money buys is machining consistency, a warranty and a proprietary charging ecosystem that is genuinely convenient — Olight's charging contact is in the cell on the i5R EOS, which removes the port failure entirely.
Whether that convenience is worth double is a personal question. Our position is that it usually is not, and that a standard cell is worth more over five years than a neater charging arrangement is over five minutes.
The cell sizes in this class
| Cell | Roughly the size of | Typical role | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| 14500 | An AA battery | High-output pocket lights | Short runtime at maximum; Wurkkos publishes 1 h 14 min at 1,400 lm |
| 16340 | A CR123A | Keychain and mini lights | Even less capacity; runtime rarely published |
| 18650 | A slightly fat AA | Full-size pocket lights | Adds length and about 45 g |
| Sealed | Varies | The smallest and flattest lights | Cannot be replaced; the light has a service life |
listing
image
1. Best pocket light under two ounces
Wurkkos TS10 V2
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Thirty-two grams, three 90-CRI emitters, and one of the very few budget lights whose maker publishes the runtime at maximum output: one hour fourteen at 1,400 lumens. Publishing that number at all puts Wurkkos ahead of several brands ten times its size.
- Max output
- 1,400 lm
- Runtime
- 1 h 14 min
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IPX8
What it gets right
- Wurkkos publishes runtime at maximum output, which most brands quietly do not
- Thirty-two grams — light enough that you stop noticing it in a pocket
- Standard 14500 cell, replaceable
- Documented automatic step-down instead of an undocumented one
What it gets wrong
- A 14500 is a small cell; sustained output is not this light's job
- RGB auxiliary LEDs are a toy, and they draw from the same cell
- Anduril again, with the same learning curve
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,400 lumens — Wurkkos published specification
- Runtime at maximum: 1 h 14 min — Wurkkos published specification
- Runtime at 1 lumen: 6 h 43 min — Wurkkos published specification
- Battery: 1 x 14500 Li-ion, user replaceable — Wurkkos published specification
- Water rating: IPX8, 2 m — Wurkkos published specification
- Weight: 32 g +/- 1 g without battery — Wurkkos published specification
- Length: 71.5 mm — Wurkkos published specification
- Thermal behavior: Automatic step-down from turbo to high — Wurkkos published specification
Skip this one if
you need something to run for an hour on high without getting hot. A light this small has nowhere to put the heat, and the step-down is not optional.
Buy it if: the person who wants a real light on them at all times and will not carry anything heavier than a pen.
- Output 8.0
- Battery 8.0
- Build 7.5
- Usability 7.5
- Overall 8.2
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
2. Best keychain light with a replaceable cell
Sofirn SC21 Pro
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Eleven hundred lumens from a keyring-sized body with a 16340 you can actually swap. Almost every rival at this size seals the battery in, which turns the light into a two-year consumable.
- Max output
- 1,100 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- A replaceable cell in a keychain-sized light, which is genuinely rare
- Magnetic tail, so it doubles as a hands-free task light
- USB-C in the light rather than a proprietary dock
What it gets wrong
- Sofirn publishes neither runtime nor a water rating for this model
- 1,100 lumens out of a 16340 is a very short-lived 1,100 lumens
- Anduril on a light this small means a lot of clicking
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,100 lumens — Sofirn published specification
- Beam distance: 131 m — Sofirn published specification
- Battery: 1 x 16340 Li-ion, included and replaceable — Sofirn published specification
- Charging: USB-C into the light — Sofirn published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tailcap and pocket clip — Sofirn published specification
- Water rating: Not published on the product page
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page
Skip this one if
you want a published IP rating. Sofirn does not state one for this model, and we are not going to guess on your behalf.
Buy it if: someone who wants keychain size without accepting a disposable battery.
- Output 7.5
- Battery 8.5
- Build 7.0
- Usability 7.0
- Overall 7.8
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
3. Best simple twist-free EDC
Olight i5R EOS
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Three hundred and fifty lumens, 64 meters, and 37 hours at 15 lumens from a 1,420 mAh cell — the low-mode runtime is the number that makes this light useful. The cell is proprietary, which is the trade for how neatly the charging works.
- Max output
- 350 lm
- Runtime
- 37 h at 15 lm
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Charging port is in the cell, so there is no port flap to fail
- Thirty-seven hours at 15 lumens is a genuinely useful published figure
- Tail switch with momentary-on
What it gets wrong
- The 14500 is an Olight part, not a standard cell you can buy anywhere
- No water rating on the product pages we could read
- Three hundred and fifty lumens is modest for the price
Published specification
- Maximum output: 350 lumens — Olight published specification
- Beam distance: 64 m — Olight published specification
- Output range: 15 to 350 lumens — Olight published specification
- Runtime: 37 hours at 15 lumens — Olight published specification
- Battery: Olight 1,420 mAh 14500 with integrated USB-C — Olight published specification
- Weight: 2.2 oz — Olight published specification
- Length: 95.4 mm — Olight published specification
- Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read
Skip this one if
you want to standardize on one battery type across your lights. Olight's ecosystem is convenient right up to the point where you want a spare from a different shop.
Buy it if: someone who wants an EDC light that never needs thinking about, and does not mind buying replacement cells from one company.
- Output 5.5
- Battery 6.5
- Build 8.5
- Usability 9.0
- Overall 7.4
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
4. Best pen-clip light with published runtimes
Streamlight MicroStream USB
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Two hundred and fifty lumens for an hour and a half, fifty for three and a half, at 1.2 ounces. The battery is sealed, which caps its lifespan, but every other number on the sheet is published and checkable.
- Max output
- 250 lm
- Runtime
- 1 h 30 min
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- IPX4
What it gets right
- Every mode's runtime is published, which is why it scores well here despite modest output
- Deep pocket clip that actually holds in a shirt pocket
- 1.2 ounces — it is easy to forget you have it
What it gets wrong
- The cell is sealed in; when it fails the light is finished
- IPX4 splash rating only
- 250 lumens is not enough to light a yard
Published specification
- High: 250 lumens, 68 m, 1.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Low: 50 lumens, 31 m, 3.5 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Battery: Lithium-ion, charges in-product in 4 hours — Streamlight published specification
- Water rating: IPX4 — Streamlight published specification
- Impact: 1 m tested — Streamlight published specification
- Weight: 1.2 oz (34.1 g) — Streamlight published specification
- Length: 3.87 in (9.83 cm) — Streamlight published specification
Skip this one if
you want a light you can re-cell. For a keychain-sized light with a replaceable battery, look at the Sofirn SC21 Pro instead.
Buy it if: a shirt pocket, a scrubs pocket, or anyone who wants a light without a bulge.
- Output 5.5
- Battery 4.5
- Build 8.5
- Usability 9.0
- Overall 7.2
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
5. Most output from a keychain body
Fenix E06R
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Seven hundred lumens and 110 meters from a light that hangs off a keyring, with a 750 mAh built-in cell and a magnetic tail. It costs more than the budget keychain options and it puts out several times their light.
- Max output
- 700 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode on the retail page
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Seven hundred lumens from a keyring light is a genuine step up
- Magnetic tail turns it into a hands-free task light
- Lockout function, so it does not cook in a pocket
What it gets wrong
- Sealed 750 mAh cell
- The UV mode and laser pointer are features looking for a use
- No per-mode runtime on the retail page
Published specification
- Maximum output: 700 lumens — Fenix published specification
- Beam distance: 361 ft (110 m) — Fenix published specification
- Battery: Built-in 750 mAh — Fenix published specification
- Modes: Ten, including UV and a red laser pointer — Fenix published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tail, key ring loop, lockout — Fenix published specification
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the retail page we read
Skip this one if
you want a keychain light with a replaceable cell — that is the Sofirn SC21 Pro's job here.
Buy it if: someone who wants their smallest light to still be a real light.
- Output 7.0
- Battery 4.0
- Build 8.5
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 7.1
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
How we ranked these
Published output over live price, battery architecture, published ratings and usability, with weight and shape weighted into usability. On this page the four-point checklist above acts as a floor: a light missing more than one item cannot finish near the top regardless of its ratio.
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.
The pocket-clip question, and the lanyard alternative
A pocket clip is the single most-used feature on a light this size and it is barely ever specified beyond its existence. ThruNite publishes a reversible, removable, titanium-coated clip on the Archer 2A V3, which is more detail than most brands give. What you actually want is a clip deep enough to hide most of the light and stiff enough not to slide off when you sit down — neither of which is published anywhere.
If you have had clips fail, a lanyard through a tail hole is more reliable and lets the light live in a pocket rather than on its edge. It is also easier to retrieve one-handed than most people expect.
Common questions
Is $50 enough for a good EDC flashlight?
It is comfortably enough. Fifty dollars buys a pocket light with a replaceable cell, a published IP rating, USB-C charging and a weight under 60 grams — the Wurkkos TS10 V2 publishes all four. Above this price you buy machining consistency, warranty and proprietary charging convenience rather than more capability.
Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?
It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.
What size battery is best for an EDC flashlight?
A 14500 — the same size as an AA — is the best balance for a pocket light: enough capacity for a usable runtime, small enough to keep the light under 40 grams, and a standard format you can replace. A 16340 is smaller still but the runtime falls away quickly, and an 18650 adds roughly 45 grams and real length.
Sources
- Wurkkos published product specifications and user manuals — read 2026-09-01
- Sofirn published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Olight published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Streamlight published product specifications — per-mode lumens, runtime, beam distance, impact and IP ratings, read 2026-09-01
- Fenix published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- ThruNite published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Lumen & Ledger method — how every figure on this page is derived
Who writes this
Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.
Read next
Best budget EDC flashlights
The light you carry beats the light you own. Ranked on carryability first.
Best rechargeable keychain flashlights
Tiny cells, short lives, and the one keychain light with a replaceable battery.
Best rechargeable flashlights under $50
Where the value curve is steepest, and the three things $50 should buy you.
18650 vs 21700
Two cell sizes, two philosophies, and which one your next light should take.
Best USB-C rechargeable flashlights
Why the port matters more than it should, and which lights got it right.
The Ledger
Every light we cover in one ranked table, sorted by lumens per dollar.