EDC & Keychain
Best USB-C Keychain Lights
One cable for everything, on the light most likely to be flat when you reach for it. That combination is worth more than it sounds.
By Scooter M. · Published September 2, 2026

Short answer
Olight i1R 2 PRO
One hundred and eighty lumens and 48 meters from something the size of a AAA cell, with 12 hours of published runtime on low. The 130 mAh battery is sealed in, so treat it as a two-year item bought at a two-year price.
listing
image
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
Disclosure — we earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It does not change which lights we pick or what we say about them. The full version.
How we rank. Published ANSI FL1 output divided by the live retail price, with sealed-battery lights marked down because a light you cannot re-cell is a light with an expiry date. Units we claim to have tested: 0 — we compile manufacturers' published figures and show the arithmetic instead. How we work this out.
Why USB-C matters more on a keychain light
A keychain light has a very small cell, so it needs charging often — which makes the cable it uses a daily question rather than a monthly one. USB-C means the cable already in your bag works. Olight publishes a 100-minute full charge on the i1R 2 PRO's 130 mAh cell over USB-C, without disassembling the light.
There is a second, less obvious argument. USB-C is reversible, and you will frequently be plugging in a flashlight in the dark. Fumbling a micro-USB plug by feel is a small daily irritation that USB-C removes entirely.
| # | Light | Max output | Battery | Lumens / $ | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No listing image Olight i1R 2 PRO Smallest light worth putting on a keyring | 180 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 2 | No listing image Sofirn SC21 Pro Best keychain light with a replaceable cell | 1,100 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 3 | No listing image Fenix E06R Most output from a keychain body | 700 | Sealed | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
| 4 | No listing image Wurkkos TS10 V2 Best pocket light under two ounces | 1,400 | Replaceable | Needs a live price | Check price on Amazon We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn |
Lumens per dollar is the manufacturer's published maximum output divided by the price the light is selling for. Where we have not pulled a live price, the column says so instead of showing you a number we cannot stand behind. See how we work this out.
The port is the part that fails
A keychain light lives in a pocket alongside keys, coins and lint, and its charging port collects all three. Any port on a light this small is a compromise; how the manufacturer handles it is worth reading for.
There are three approaches. A rubber flap, which works until it tears. A port waterproofed behind the flap, which Fenix describes as inner-waterproofing on some models and which means the light survives even when the flap is open. And moving the contact into the cell entirely, which Olight does on the i5R EOS — no body port at all, at the cost of a proprietary battery.
Published charge times
| Light | Published cell | Published charge time | Port |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olight i1R 2 PRO | 130 mAh built in | 100 minutes to full | USB-C |
| Fenix E06R | 750 mAh built in | Not published on the page we read | USB-C |
| Sofirn SC21 Pro | 16340, replaceable | Not published | USB-C in the light |
| Wurkkos TS10 V2 | 14500, replaceable | Not published | USB-C in the light |
listing
image
1. Smallest light worth putting on a keyring
Olight i1R 2 PRO
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
One hundred and eighty lumens and 48 meters from something the size of a AAA cell, with 12 hours of published runtime on low. The 130 mAh battery is sealed in, so treat it as a two-year item bought at a two-year price.
- Max output
- 180 lm
- Runtime
- Up to 12 h
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Small enough that it genuinely stays on the keyring
- Twist-head operation with no switch to press in a pocket
- USB-C without disassembling the light
What it gets wrong
- One hundred and thirty milliamp-hours sealed in — this is a consumable
- Twist interface means you cannot operate it one-handed while holding something
- No published water rating
Published specification
- Maximum output: 180 lumens — Olight published specification
- Beam distance: 48 m — Olight published specification
- Low mode: 5 lumens — Olight published specification
- Runtime: Up to 12 hours — Olight published specification
- Battery: Built-in 130 mAh lithium-ion — Olight published specification
- Charging: USB-C, full charge in 100 minutes — Olight published specification
- Length: 2.02 in — Olight published specification
- Water rating: Not stated on the pages we read
Skip this one if
you expect a keyring light to last a decade. It will not, and at 130 mAh nothing this size will.
Buy it if: the keyring, where the alternative is having no light at all.
- Output 4.0
- Battery 3.5
- Build 8.0
- Usability 8.5
- Overall 6.4
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
2. Best keychain light with a replaceable cell
Sofirn SC21 Pro
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Eleven hundred lumens from a keyring-sized body with a 16340 you can actually swap. Almost every rival at this size seals the battery in, which turns the light into a two-year consumable.
- Max output
- 1,100 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- A replaceable cell in a keychain-sized light, which is genuinely rare
- Magnetic tail, so it doubles as a hands-free task light
- USB-C in the light rather than a proprietary dock
What it gets wrong
- Sofirn publishes neither runtime nor a water rating for this model
- 1,100 lumens out of a 16340 is a very short-lived 1,100 lumens
- Anduril on a light this small means a lot of clicking
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,100 lumens — Sofirn published specification
- Beam distance: 131 m — Sofirn published specification
- Battery: 1 x 16340 Li-ion, included and replaceable — Sofirn published specification
- Charging: USB-C into the light — Sofirn published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tailcap and pocket clip — Sofirn published specification
- Water rating: Not published on the product page
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the product page
Skip this one if
you want a published IP rating. Sofirn does not state one for this model, and we are not going to guess on your behalf.
Buy it if: someone who wants keychain size without accepting a disposable battery.
- Output 7.5
- Battery 8.5
- Build 7.0
- Usability 7.0
- Overall 7.8
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
3. Most output from a keychain body
Fenix E06R
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Seven hundred lumens and 110 meters from a light that hangs off a keyring, with a 750 mAh built-in cell and a magnetic tail. It costs more than the budget keychain options and it puts out several times their light.
- Max output
- 700 lm
- Runtime
- Not published per mode on the retail page
- Battery
- Sealed
- Water rating
- None published
What it gets right
- Seven hundred lumens from a keyring light is a genuine step up
- Magnetic tail turns it into a hands-free task light
- Lockout function, so it does not cook in a pocket
What it gets wrong
- Sealed 750 mAh cell
- The UV mode and laser pointer are features looking for a use
- No per-mode runtime on the retail page
Published specification
- Maximum output: 700 lumens — Fenix published specification
- Beam distance: 361 ft (110 m) — Fenix published specification
- Battery: Built-in 750 mAh — Fenix published specification
- Modes: Ten, including UV and a red laser pointer — Fenix published specification
- Fittings: Magnetic tail, key ring loop, lockout — Fenix published specification
- Per-mode runtime: Not published on the retail page we read
Skip this one if
you want a keychain light with a replaceable cell — that is the Sofirn SC21 Pro's job here.
Buy it if: someone who wants their smallest light to still be a real light.
- Output 7.0
- Battery 4.0
- Build 8.5
- Usability 8.0
- Overall 7.1
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
listing
image
4. Best pocket light under two ounces
Wurkkos TS10 V2
Lumens per dollar
Computed the moment we have a live price for it
Thirty-two grams, three 90-CRI emitters, and one of the very few budget lights whose maker publishes the runtime at maximum output: one hour fourteen at 1,400 lumens. Publishing that number at all puts Wurkkos ahead of several brands ten times its size.
- Max output
- 1,400 lm
- Runtime
- 1 h 14 min
- Battery
- Replaceable cell
- Water rating
- IPX8
What it gets right
- Wurkkos publishes runtime at maximum output, which most brands quietly do not
- Thirty-two grams — light enough that you stop noticing it in a pocket
- Standard 14500 cell, replaceable
- Documented automatic step-down instead of an undocumented one
What it gets wrong
- A 14500 is a small cell; sustained output is not this light's job
- RGB auxiliary LEDs are a toy, and they draw from the same cell
- Anduril again, with the same learning curve
Published specification
- Maximum output: 1,400 lumens — Wurkkos published specification
- Runtime at maximum: 1 h 14 min — Wurkkos published specification
- Runtime at 1 lumen: 6 h 43 min — Wurkkos published specification
- Battery: 1 x 14500 Li-ion, user replaceable — Wurkkos published specification
- Water rating: IPX8, 2 m — Wurkkos published specification
- Weight: 32 g +/- 1 g without battery — Wurkkos published specification
- Length: 71.5 mm — Wurkkos published specification
- Thermal behavior: Automatic step-down from turbo to high — Wurkkos published specification
Skip this one if
you need something to run for an hour on high without getting hot. A light this small has nowhere to put the heat, and the step-down is not optional.
Buy it if: the person who wants a real light on them at all times and will not carry anything heavier than a pen.
- Output 8.0
- Battery 8.0
- Build 7.5
- Usability 7.5
- Overall 8.2
We show a price only when we have pulled a live one. #ad How we earn
How we ranked these
Published output over live price, battery architecture, published ratings and usability, with charging arrangement folded into usability. A replaceable cell still outranks a clever charging port, because the port only has to be convenient while the cell has to be the reason the light still works in five years.
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Every publisher in this category says they tested twenty flashlights. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead: compile the manufacturer's own published ANSI FL1 figures, pull the price the light is selling for right now, and divide one by the other. Every number on this page is one you can check yourself in about two minutes.
The habit that makes a keychain light useful
Charge it on a schedule, not on demand. A light with a 130 mAh cell that you top up when you remember will be flat when you need it, because you will remember only after the last time it failed. Plug it in on the same day you do something else weekly and the problem disappears.
The alternative is a light with a replaceable cell and a spare in a drawer, which is the argument for the Sofirn on this page and the reason it survives a charging habit you do not have.
Common questions
How long does a USB-C keychain light take to charge?
Where manufacturers publish a figure it is short, because the cells are tiny — Olight quotes 100 minutes to full for the i1R 2 PRO's 130 mAh battery. Several brands publish no figure at all for this class. Charge time also depends on the adapter: a modern phone charger will hit the published number, an old laptop port will take considerably longer.
Is USB-C better than micro-USB on a flashlight?
Yes, for three practical reasons: it is the cable you already carry, it is reversible so you can plug it in without light, and it supports higher charging currents. It also tends to indicate a newer design — a new light shipping with micro-USB in 2026 is usually a product that has been in the catalog for several years.
Can you replace the battery in a rechargeable flashlight?
It depends entirely on the model, and it is the single most consequential thing to check before buying. Lights built around a standard cell — an 18650, a 21700, a 14500, a 16340 — take a screw-off tailcap and a five-dollar replacement. Lights with a built-in cell, which manufacturers describe as 'integrated' or 'non-removable', cannot be re-celled by an ordinary owner: when the battery reaches the end of its cycle life the whole light is refuse. Energizer, for example, states plainly that the Vision HD Rechargeable uses non-removable lithium-ion batteries.
Sources
- Olight published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Sofirn published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Fenix published product specifications — read 2026-09-01
- Wurkkos published product specifications and user manuals — read 2026-09-01
- Lumen & Ledger method — how every figure on this page is derived
Who writes this
Scooter M. — I am an enthusiast who is genuinely into this. I read the manuals, compile the published specs, and do the math. No lab coat, no test bench, no drawer of free samples. What I can tell you is exactly what a light claims on paper, exactly what it costs right now, and what those two numbers mean when you divide one by the other.
Read next
Best rechargeable keychain flashlights
Tiny cells, short lives, and the one keychain light with a replaceable battery.
Best USB-C rechargeable flashlights
Why the port matters more than it should, and which lights got it right.
How long to charge a rechargeable flashlight
The arithmetic, the variables, and why your charger is probably the slow part.
Best EDC flashlights under $50
Fifty dollars is the sweet spot for pocket lights. Here is why.
Rechargeable flashlight not charging
Six diagnostic steps, cheapest first. Most of the time it is step one or two.
The Ledger
Every light we cover in one ranked table, sorted by lumens per dollar.